A little web-checking help please?

Modular and other sound devices from BugBrand.

Moderators: Kent, BugBrand

User avatar
BugBrand
Knowledge of Bugs
Posts: 7309
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 11:59 am

A little web-checking help please?

Post by BugBrand » Wed Sep 21, 2011 10:56 am

Hmm - can people maybe lend a quick hand to check something for me...

On product pages there are small images which, when clicked, should expand into large views - this always worked fine for me but recently has stopped working (just comes up with a blank popup box), both in Google Chrome and Firefox (I just installed Safari and strangely it works ok in that..)

:::Direct link to check:::

I just checked with some friends in the building - Macs using Firefox - and their's work fine. I also had a very few people email over the last 6 months or so saying images weren't working properly.

Damn - complex webby crap! Although slightly techy, I am quite out of depth in working behind the scenes with the ZenCart software (the site was built for me) - the bizarre thing is that it worked fine for 2 years but recently stopped.. [I probably need to update the ZenCart version, but that scares me!]


So - if anyone can check whether images load for them please.
Please say what OS and Browser you're using - that'd be useful.

Thanks a bunch!

User avatar
otoskope
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1196
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2011 7:04 am
Location: Island X, West Coast of Sweden

Post by otoskope » Wed Sep 21, 2011 11:04 am

I always had problems with those pictures on at least a couple of my computers, mostly in Chrome/Win7 I think. So it's not a new problem. I usually work around it by right-clicking and selecting Open in new tab or something.

/Palle
The brain is always greener on the other side.


soundcloud1 soundcloud2
bandcamp
youtube

sandyb

Post by sandyb » Wed Sep 21, 2011 11:12 am

showing fine here.

mac osx 10.5.8

safari v5.06

User avatar
Muff Wiggler
wait, what?
Posts: 7815
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 12:19 pm

Post by Muff Wiggler » Wed Sep 21, 2011 11:20 am

here in IE9 it takes you to a new page showing the image

in Chrome it opens a black box that doesn't show the image!

on a Windows7 PC

User avatar
krunkleKick
Common Wiggler
Posts: 125
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 6:46 am
Location: UK

Post by krunkleKick » Wed Sep 21, 2011 11:23 am

Works for me man!

With Windows 7:
Firefox 3.6.22 (The newest update of FF3) - Images slide open and expand into larger image
IE 9 - Opens the large image straight up in the browser without sliding open

User avatar
Tim Stinchcombe
Uncommon Wiggler
Posts: 1420
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 1:55 pm
Location: Cheltenham, Glos, UK

Post by Tim Stinchcombe » Wed Sep 21, 2011 11:33 am

Working fine here too: Windows XP Home service pack 3, with both Firefox (3.6.9) and IE (8.0).

User avatar
otoskope
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1196
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2011 7:04 am
Location: Island X, West Coast of Sweden

Post by otoskope » Wed Sep 21, 2011 11:33 am

Works fine in Opera 11.51 on Windows XP. Slide open as it should.
The brain is always greener on the other side.


soundcloud1 soundcloud2
bandcamp
youtube

User avatar
BugBrand
Knowledge of Bugs
Posts: 7309
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 11:59 am

Post by BugBrand » Wed Sep 21, 2011 11:37 am

Cheers - that's useful but...
Oh this is so damn strange!
Firefox for me is now v.5.0
Running Windows XP sp3
I get what Mike gets:
Muff Wiggler wrote:..in Chrome it opens a black box that doesn't show the image!..
But I get it in Firefox too.

I wonder if it could be some anti-pop-up thing.

Do I dare post a question on the ZenCart forums? I think the techs would eat me alive... (and tell me to come back once I've updated to the latest version urgh..)


Thanks all!

User avatar
emergencyofstate
Synthesist
Posts: 1702
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 3:50 pm
Location: San Diego, CA

Post by emergencyofstate » Wed Sep 21, 2011 11:45 am

I think it's an issue with Lightbox which is what you're using for the "pop up" windows that expand with the larger image inside. I'll keep exploring, it may be an easy fix. (hopefully)

The image is there (http://www.bugbrand.co.uk/images/large/ucrush_LRG.jpg), it's just not being loaded into the Lightbox window on some browsers. THis is most likely cause there have been a million browser version updates that are now fussy with your current version of lightbox.

Edit: Looks like you're running something called Zen Lightbox Mootools? Are you able to just update this piece?

Or check out this thread:

http://www.zen-cart.com/forum/showthread.php?t=179976

Current version (1.6.2) looks like it's here -> http://www.zen-cart.com/index.php?main_ ... cts_id=273
Last edited by emergencyofstate on Wed Sep 21, 2011 12:08 pm, edited 3 times in total.

User avatar
BugBrand
Knowledge of Bugs
Posts: 7309
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 11:59 am

Post by BugBrand » Wed Sep 21, 2011 11:54 am

Ah-ha - that's a good pointer Adam - thanks!
I'd been sniffing slightly around there (but probably chasing my tail, not really knowing where to go..)
It looks like I am back at Lightbox v1.4 so I'll have a hunt for how to upgrade that.

User avatar
emergencyofstate
Synthesist
Posts: 1702
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 3:50 pm
Location: San Diego, CA

Post by emergencyofstate » Wed Sep 21, 2011 11:56 am

^^ Check that link in my first post..I think that may be zeroing in on the specific fix :sb:

User avatar
BugBrand
Knowledge of Bugs
Posts: 7309
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 11:59 am

Post by BugBrand » Wed Sep 21, 2011 1:08 pm

Wahey! I think I did it!
(although I did several very stupid false starts...)

Thanks for the pointers Adam!


(and, yes, all the talk of MooTools just made me think 'WHAT?!')


Hmm, I think there may have been an edit done before to the background colour, but that is now of little importance - it WORKS!

User avatar
Muff Wiggler
wait, what?
Posts: 7815
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 12:19 pm

Post by Muff Wiggler » Wed Sep 21, 2011 1:12 pm

confirmed working here in both IE and Chrome!

User avatar
otoskope
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1196
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2011 7:04 am
Location: Island X, West Coast of Sweden

Post by otoskope » Wed Sep 21, 2011 1:17 pm

Is this what is really meant by "customer support"? :hihi:
The brain is always greener on the other side.


soundcloud1 soundcloud2
bandcamp
youtube

User avatar
BananaPlug
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2614
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 10:37 pm
Location: PHL USA

Post by BananaPlug » Wed Sep 21, 2011 1:53 pm

Lightbox is fine for pages like this where you have multiple images, but for most of your modules it just pops up a single image and it's an annoyingly slow way to do that. Do they give you any way to turn off the dopey expanding white box thing and just have the image pop into place? Ideally use a simpler, more efficient method for single images and reserve Lightbox for the multiples.

User avatar
Muff Wiggler
wait, what?
Posts: 7815
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 12:19 pm

Post by Muff Wiggler » Wed Sep 21, 2011 2:00 pm

BananaPlug wrote:and just have the image pop into place?
i've never used Lightbox or any html enhancement thingy, but in plain html I always just put:

target="_blank">

.....at the end of the <a href....

that'll make whatever you're linking popup in a new window, and it doesn't need any special flash or whatever support. simple enough.

User avatar
Muff Wiggler
wait, what?
Posts: 7815
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 12:19 pm

Post by Muff Wiggler » Wed Sep 21, 2011 2:04 pm

oh and if you want to force the size of the window that pops up then use:

link target="_blank" width=640 height=320

etc

User avatar
BugBrand
Knowledge of Bugs
Posts: 7309
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 11:59 am

Post by BugBrand » Wed Sep 21, 2011 2:15 pm

otoskope wrote:Is this what is really meant by "customer support"? :hihi:
Haha - yes - and thanks!


For other ideas -- yeah, well, all the clever-clever stuff came in when I got someone else to do the website. I know what you mean about it being a bit slow for single images, but overall I quite like it (and, frankly, I'm def. not going anywhere near changing the website anytime soon! too ball-breaking!)

I tend to have to do virtually no html editing with the site now - though, actually, I tended to get by ok in such instances - all this database stuff gives me major confusions (hence my tendency to shy away from it!)

User avatar
negativspace
Manhattan Analog
Posts: 6576
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2010 2:50 am
Location: Manhattan, KS, USA
Contact:

Post by negativspace » Wed Sep 21, 2011 2:28 pm

Confirmed working using Firefox 6.0.2 / Vista 32bit. Looks nice!

User avatar
consumed
International Filter Conspiracy
Posts: 3700
Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 1:38 pm
Location: nor cal

Post by consumed » Wed Sep 21, 2011 2:34 pm

for the longest time i would get a black box on Chrome/Windows 7 but i never reported it

:oops:

but today it is working fine! looks a little different than before too.
chrome 14.0.835.163 m

User avatar
dan_p
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3519
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 5:47 pm
Location: UK 4000' above Worc's

Post by dan_p » Wed Sep 21, 2011 2:59 pm

All good with XP sp3 and FireFox 6.02.
Oh you got a Nickel, I got a Dime,
I'd like to get to know you but I haven't got the time,
You got to walk like a mannequin, roll like a tyre,
Act on reaction dodge the big spud fryer
------------------------------------------
www.Soundcloud.com/dan_p
www.YouTube.Com/d4nnyp

User avatar
tIB
Stainer!
Posts: 9293
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 5:28 am
Location: UK

Post by tIB » Wed Sep 21, 2011 3:02 pm

for the first time ever I can see the enlargements! chrome, XP sp2.

User avatar
laserpalace
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1088
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 9:51 pm
Contact:

Post by laserpalace » Wed Sep 21, 2011 3:24 pm

You might also try updating to the latest zencart software, especially if it's 2 years old. A lot of jQuery plugins become antiquated and require new versions of the library to function. It's a pain initially but it will save you a load of trouble in the future. I've had some plugins stop working because development stopped but in order to utilize a new plugin I needed to update EVERYTHING, it's a nightmare. Just be sure to back up your database and styling. You may want to double check and see if newer versions support old styling structures as well. Good luck!

User avatar
BugBrand
Knowledge of Bugs
Posts: 7309
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 11:59 am

Post by BugBrand » Wed Sep 21, 2011 3:54 pm

laserpalace wrote:You might also try updating to the latest zencart software, especially if it's 2 years old. A lot of jQuery plugins become antiquated and require new versions of the library to function. It's a pain initially but it will save you a load of trouble in the future. I've had some plugins stop working because development stopped but in order to utilize a new plugin I needed to update EVERYTHING, it's a nightmare. Just be sure to back up your database and styling. You may want to double check and see if newer versions support old styling structures as well. Good luck!
Yes, there's part of me that says I should bite the bullet.. But as I don't tend to work very dynamically with the site, I'm not sure I want to take the plunge. Hell, I'm way behind at even keeping up to date with module descriptions...


Thanks to everyone for checking and glad that this seems to work well.
(funny to hear that it hadn't worked for ages for some!)

Art
Common Wiggler
Posts: 215
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 6:40 am
Location: Bangkok, Thailand

Post by Art » Wed Sep 21, 2011 10:25 pm

This might be a little late, Tom, but just check the image and although it showed fine, I couldn't close the image like I used to (previously I think there was a close box and I could also click outside the pop up to close it), nor could I move from the first image to the next when you have more than 1 thumbnail per page. This is probably due to the Javascript code of Visual Lightbox.
Mac OS 10.6.8, Safari 5.1 (6534.50)

Post Reply

Return to “BugBrand Devices”