MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Mixing with headphones...
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Production Techniques  
Author Mixing with headphones...
astroschnautzer
I don¨t have any monitors at the moment, am trying to mix with headphones with not so good results, any of those "mix with headphones" plugins out there for mac?
rekem1000
How good are your 'phones?

I'm so usd to my Beyer DT880's I can get pretty close to the same results as my BM5A's. It'll come down to how welll you know your 'phone's sound and being able to compensate for real world listening.

Those mix with 'phone's apps will only make things worse.
tIB
Ive been mixing on allesandro MS1's for the past 3 years now. no plugs needed, just a decent set of headphones that you know well and have cross referenced plenty.
Babaluma
yeah just keep at it and keep listening to a) your mixes on as many other systems as possible, and b) your favourite music through the same headphones. keep comparing and contrasting. after a few years you should get quite good at it. wink
mojopin
yeah, no plugins. they always make it sound much worse. i feel that mixing with quality headphones (i use hd800 with dac-1) is superior to monitors for making tonal decisions minus the sub range. or you can look it as getting more bang for your buck.
heidi oyala
i would not mix (only) with headphones - it is ok to make music/sketches with it - but a mix?
i was never happy with it - i have a sennheiser hd 25
tIB
^ needs must.
widdly
I can never get the bass balanced properly if I mix only on headphones. Listening to a mix on hifi speakers somewhere else then trying to fix it with headphones back in the studio is hard. I guess it takes practice and more listening.
dogoftears