Looking for advice building my first Modular System

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: Kent, Joe., analogdigital, infradead, lisa, parasitk, plord

Chiaroscuro
Learning to Wiggle

Looking for advice building my first Modular System

Post by Chiaroscuro » Sat Apr 11, 2009 5:41 pm

Hi !

I’m a film/tv composer who has been using synths for years but have been most impressed by the results I heard from friends and colleagues who created sounds from their modular setups.

I’m wondering if anyone could give me any advice on building my first modular system. Not a huge wall setup, most likely something that would fit into a rack mount suitcase. Perhaps the Doepfer a-100 Low cost case (9u or three rows of modules).

The type of sounds I’m looking to hopefully create are:

Ambient sound designy.
Big sounds that don’t sound “synthy” in terms of some dance music. More organic / hard to define.
Huge Rhythmic Pulses
Morphed bass gestures / phrases
Intense actiony percussive sounds

Assuming price is no object what would be your dream system that could create the sounds I’m looking for and fit into this size category.

Any input would be greatly appreciated ~

Thanks so much!!

felix
Loves the manuals!

Post by felix » Sat Apr 11, 2009 5:47 pm

There are really so many options available that can cover the range of sounds that mentioned and it would be impossible to recommend specifics that didn't come from someone's personal preferences.

If you have friends and colleagues with modulars, and like what they create with them, I would talk with them first about how they create the sounds, which modules they find the most useful and ones that they like best, and then look for equivalent modules in whatever format that you ultimately choose (euro, frac, MOTM, etc).
dress yourself for the public. you now must exit your home and acquire a dental mirror and lubrication!