MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

OP AMPS
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Music Tech DIY Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next [all]
Author OP AMPS
jimmyedgar
I was hoping to get some good information on types of OP AMPS...

DO's and DO NOT's
Experience with different types and modifications
Sounds qualities, Noise qualities, specific usages

Why are there so many types of opamps?
Does it matter which one I use?
Can something bad happen if I use the wrong one?
What specifications are important in my application?

http://www.synthtech.com/tutorials.html

They were supposed to do a tutorial.. but maybe some of us could have some good information too...
Dave Kendall
Hi.

I'm no expert, but if there's one opamp to always have lying around for synth circuits, it's the TL071, or TL072 and TL074 2- and 4-channel versions.
It gets used all over the place, and if no opamp type is specified, it's a pretty safe bet.

The TL062 is a lower power version, which can be handy for battery powered circuits. The 082 is abolut the same price as the 072, but it's specs are not quite as good, IIRC......

cheers,
Dave
Neutron7
I always though the rule of thumb was

The '07x has lower noise figure, so is better for AC signals.
The '08x has lower offset, so is better for DC signals
Tombola
I'd like an op amp with the same Pinout as a TL0*4 but with low distortion and high current output - to better drive a spring reverb.

I built it with a 74 and swapped it with a 84. - I think it sounds better, cleaner, lower distortion, but I don't trust my ears against placebo effect.

Only one quarter drives the spring, the other three are doing regular audio amplification and buffering
Neutron7
i would use an op amp designed as a buffer or headphone amp, but they
do not come in quads.

http://www.ti.com/product/rc4560