Volta Vst version...

Discussion and support for MOTU's Volta software.

Moderators: Kent, stretta

Analog>Plugins
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 283
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 10:05 am
Location: Uk

Volta Vst version...

Post by Analog>Plugins » Thu Apr 23, 2009 2:53 pm

I've been trying out Logic 8 on the mac just in case I can not get Volta working in Cubase 5 through an Au hosting ...Vst host plugin.

I just can't get along with it, I have also tried DP6 on Mac, no go.

I think it is an even split of people who use Logic and Cubase so it would seem a good idea to code up a Pc version for us Vst users :mrgreen:

I know you said that you were not against the idea Stretta, but could you please keep us updated in this thread on any potential Vst version?

Cheers :guinness:

Analog>Plugins
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 283
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 10:05 am
Location: Uk

Post by Analog>Plugins » Thu Apr 23, 2009 4:21 pm

I just thought, I could run Cubase on Mac.... and run Volta on Reaper running as rewire in Cubase 5.

I could then compose in Cubase 5 linking the midi tracks in Cubase 5 to Reaper over rewire, and patch the audio of the analog synths back into Cubase 5.

Lot of bother though, Vst would be so much easier :P

User avatar
Chuck E. Jesus
holier than thou
Posts: 2882
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 4:13 pm
Location: next to Serious Fun!

Post by Chuck E. Jesus » Thu Apr 23, 2009 4:44 pm

i kind of would like to know if there are any plan for VST...i use Sonar on a PC, i'm not switching...if they won't do VST, no prob, i understand...

User avatar
dkcg
I pity the fool w/o enough VCAs
Posts: 9142
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 12:35 pm
Location: LA

Post by dkcg » Thu Apr 23, 2009 4:48 pm

Does MOTU make any VSTs? I thought they were AU only pretty much.

User avatar
felix
Loves the manuals!
Posts: 3865
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 12:05 am
Location: San Jose, CA

Post by felix » Thu Apr 23, 2009 8:12 pm

dkcg wrote:Does MOTU make any VSTs? I thought they were AU only pretty much.
They do (or did?) for their instruments that exist outside of Digital Performer (MachFive, MX4, Ethno, etc). In RTAS too I think.

However, bear in mind that making a plugin in another format isn't just another button in the compiler. Generally there's a considerable, but not necessarily significant, amount of extra work for implementation with the additional SDKs, and it of course greatly increases testing time/resources. Oh yeah, and support costs, on going developments/bug fixes/updates.

I think it's commendable that it made it out even in the one format. Even if every single person who owned a modular bought one, that's pretty small numbers compared to the other instruments, let alone Digital Performer.
dress yourself for the public. you now must exit your home and acquire a dental mirror and lubrication!
i recommend a hat, or a helmet. if a helmet, ensure that it is both convincing and unbiased. -citizen mori
https://www.modulargrid.net/e/racks/view/78959
https://www.modulargrid.net/e/racks/view/225002
https://jimdrones.bandcamp.com

TWINSTATES
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 394
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 6:29 pm

Post by TWINSTATES » Fri Apr 24, 2009 1:26 pm

Ableton.
i used Cubase and Logic on macs and pcs, now I just ableton
.

in some respects it's a little more limited but it's good qualities far far outweigh any bad

User avatar
Chuck E. Jesus
holier than thou
Posts: 2882
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 4:13 pm
Location: next to Serious Fun!

Post by Chuck E. Jesus » Fri Apr 24, 2009 1:55 pm

felix wrote: Even if every single person who owned a modular bought one, that's pretty small numbers compared to the other instruments, let alone Digital Performer.
that's an excellent point...although there are probably more people using PCs that do music, it seems more people who use modular gear use Macs (at least around here, could be wrong, leave me alone) ...so how much would MOTU gain from doing a VST version? i suppose that's the bottom line...i think VOLTA is an excellent idea! if i had all my equipment ducks in a row for it, i'd hop right on that wagon but it's not going to make me produce more/better music...if it works as they describe, it would help me out tremendously with my osc of various vintage...

User avatar
stretta
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 698
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 3:43 pm

Post by stretta » Fri Apr 24, 2009 4:18 pm

Does MOTU make any VSTs?
BPM
Ethno
MSI
MachFive
Electric Keys

MX4 was AU/MAS only

User avatar
stretta
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 698
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 3:43 pm

Post by stretta » Fri Apr 24, 2009 4:38 pm

i kind of would like to know if there are any plan for VST.
If I knew one way or another, I wouldn't be able to tell you. I know this is frustrating. You want information because it affects your planning. I understand this because I'm in exactly the same boat as you when it comes to matters outside of MOTU.

What I've learned is to never believe something exists until I'm holding it in my hand. Don't believe your own wishes. Don't believe product announcements, or estimated availability times. Unless you're actually holding it in your hand, it doesn't exist.

Make your plans based on what is available now, not on an ethereal idea of future availability. Failure to do so prevents you from making music.

Analog>Plugins
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 283
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 10:05 am
Location: Uk

Post by Analog>Plugins » Sat Apr 25, 2009 7:19 am

\Good reply Stretta and so true.

Could you at least make it so that if I buy (which I will) Volta as it is now....if you manage to make a Vst version....that it won't cost me loads to get the vst version.

Can't wait until Volta is ready to buy in Eu.

Analog>Plugins
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 283
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 10:05 am
Location: Uk

Post by Analog>Plugins » Sun May 10, 2009 6:29 am

Stretta, can you update us on any hope of a vst version. I've personaly invested too much in software that only works on Pc to go over to mac....and having to reboot constantly into my mac hackintosh partition is going to kill workflow.

I know of 2 definates that would buy a vst version of Volta and thats out of the 5 producers I hang with.

Pretty pretty please with a cherry on top?
:hail: :hail: :hail:

Analog>Plugins
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 283
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 10:05 am
Location: Uk

Post by Analog>Plugins » Wed May 13, 2009 8:42 am

Gaarrrgh I've just spent all day trying to learn DP Pro 6 over at a friends house. I just can't do it.... don't get me wrong it's a very powerful program but I'm used to Cubase.

I'm going to spend the rest of the day learning how to re-wire volta to Cubase 5 using Reaper, but I will miss all my lovely PC plugins.

Give us a heads up Stretta on the possibility of a VST version? Don't go all quiet on us :razz:

User avatar
astroschnautzer
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1613
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2008 5:58 am
Location: Finland

Post by astroschnautzer » Wed May 13, 2009 8:49 am

you could always get max msp and program your own "volta" .

Analog>Plugins
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 283
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 10:05 am
Location: Uk

Post by Analog>Plugins » Wed May 13, 2009 10:50 am

Success!!!!!!!!!

After much stress I managed to get Volta working inside Cubase 5 by downloading the Kore 2 Demo and running Volta inside Kore 2 :hyper:

The first synth I've tried it on is the Sequential Pro 1 with 6 octaves of stable calibration!

Stretta this thing rocks, but vst would seriously open your market up by a large amount.

User avatar
stretta
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 698
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 3:43 pm

Post by stretta » Wed May 13, 2009 11:27 am

I've just spent all day trying to learn DP Pro 6 over at a friends house. I just can't do it.... don't get me wrong it's a very powerful program but I'm used to Cubase.
People who know me, know I'm a musician first. I have great respect for all the tools out there available for musicians because they're all so interesting and powerful. If you use Cubase, that is great. Cubase is amazing software. I'm not here to sell you MOTU hardware, DP, or even Volta for that matter. I'm simply into making music, and I'm extremely enthused about music technology - no matter where it comes from.

So, no need to apologize. I know what switching sequencers is like, it is... painful. I'm humbled you would make such an effort simply to use Volta.
After much stress I managed to get Volta working inside Cubase 5 by downloading the Kore 2 Demo and running Volta inside Kore 2
:party:
The first synth I've tried it on is the Sequential Pro 1 with 6 octaves of stable calibration!
That is fantastic news. I'm in awe of your persistence.
Stretta this thing rocks, but vst would seriously open your market up by a large amount.
No argument from me.

Analog>Plugins
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 283
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 10:05 am
Location: Uk

Post by Analog>Plugins » Wed May 13, 2009 12:10 pm

Cheers for getting back to me Stretta.

Words cannot describe how long I have been waiting to be able to use my analogs in time let alone in tune (which is a big bonus). Also to be able to run a modular under full control.

Only problem is now I have to buy Kore 2 which isn't so bad really :) Looks like a 24 i/o Motu card on the way.

The Pro 1 isrunning awesome, although to calibrate it you have to bring the filter right down over the saw tooth to turn it into sine wave if using osc 1..... no big deal.

Just the Arp Odyssey mk3, Yamaha CS-30, CS-5 and my Oakley modular to go.

Been waiting a long time for this so a big thank you Stretta.... but I'm going to keep hassling you to hassle MOTU to code a vst version :hihi:

Anyone need any help with running in Cubase 4/5 just ask and I shall try to help.

User avatar
brandon daniel
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 689
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 1:38 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA

Post by brandon daniel » Wed May 13, 2009 12:23 pm

Analog>Plugins wrote: Been waiting a long time for this so a big thank you Stretta.... but I'm going to keep hassling you to hassle MOTU to code a vst version :hihi:
Given Stretta's last comment (that he agrees making a VST version would widen the market for Volta), it occurs to me that there might be more constructive people to bug about this than Stretta. If given the opportunity, I'm sure he'd LOVE to have Volta available in every plugin format. Perhaps contacting sales/marketing folks at MOTU about wanting VST is more likely to result in a positive outcome. Developers rarely have the power over these sorts of decisions!
MOAR EURO

User avatar
1nput0utput
Common Wiggler
Posts: 212
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2009 10:00 pm
Location: USA

Post by 1nput0utput » Wed May 13, 2009 2:20 pm

brandon daniel wrote:
Analog>Plugins wrote: Been waiting a long time for this so a big thank you Stretta.... but I'm going to keep hassling you to hassle MOTU to code a vst version :hihi:
Given Stretta's last comment (that he agrees making a VST version would widen the market for Volta), it occurs to me that there might be more constructive people to bug about this than Stretta. If given the opportunity, I'm sure he'd LOVE to have Volta available in every plugin format. Perhaps contacting sales/marketing folks at MOTU about wanting VST is more likely to result in a positive outcome. Developers rarely have the power over these sorts of decisions!
I found a suggestion form on MOTU's website:
http://www.motu.com/other/feedback/suggestions

Analog>Plugins
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 283
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 10:05 am
Location: Uk

Post by Analog>Plugins » Wed May 13, 2009 5:25 pm

I posted a request, hope others do :)

User avatar
Chuck E. Jesus
holier than thou
Posts: 2882
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 4:13 pm
Location: next to Serious Fun!

Post by Chuck E. Jesus » Wed May 13, 2009 8:59 pm

Analog>Plugins wrote:I posted a request, hope others do :)
:wink:

User avatar
ignatzthemouse
Common Wiggler
Posts: 226
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2009 11:22 am
Location: Canada

Post by ignatzthemouse » Thu May 14, 2009 7:15 am

Already have :)

Analog>Plugins
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 283
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 10:05 am
Location: Uk

Post by Analog>Plugins » Sun May 24, 2009 1:53 pm

Bumpety Bump for the Vsti trump :P

User avatar
wetterberg
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 7673
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 5:31 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark.

Post by wetterberg » Sun May 24, 2009 3:23 pm

signed it!

Analog>Plugins
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 283
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 10:05 am
Location: Uk

Post by Analog>Plugins » Wed May 27, 2009 3:28 am

Hi Stretta, any word from Motu that they might be considering releasing for Vst?

It's getting boring really quick having to keep booting into the Mac partition, recording the bit's I want then having to export the song so I can load it into the pc to use my lovely plugins etc... :razz: :help:

auricle
Common Wiggler
Posts: 245
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2009 8:58 am
Location: Moscow/Dudley

Post by auricle » Wed May 27, 2009 5:35 am

I've sent my suggestion too. :)

Post Reply

Return to “Volta”