MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

You can solder SMT!
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Music Tech DIY  
Author You can solder SMT!
Muff Wiggler
Well, I know you can learn. I haven't yet, but there's guys who do it. Governor Blacksnake does it (The Harvestman), Grant Richter does it (Wiard). Anyway, Mr. Blacksnake posted this encouraging info in another thread, and I'm quoting it here to give you guys some inspiration 8) Maybe one day I'll get around to trying it out myself.

Thanks Blacksnake for the info!

governor blacksnake wrote:
Getting into SMT building was actually really fun for me. I recommend that every DIYer with good eyes and steady hands tries it.

I've had good results using the following tool set. Warning, my methods were completely self-taught so you'll probably find better ways of doing this.

some old tweezers
Weller WES51 w/ ETR screwdriver tip (set to 500 degrees)
silver-bearing leaded solder, .022 diameter

I do most of the work with 0805 size passives and various SOIC packages. I can work with QFP and SSOPs as well, but it was a huge headache until I got a good deal on a hot air rework station. Typically I add a dome of solder to one of the pads, then pick up the part with tweezers, move it into position, and let the solder flow. Then, I turn the board around and add solder to the other side. Repeat for all pins.