MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Low Cost MU Cabinet Update
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> 5U Format Modules Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next [all]
Author Low Cost MU Cabinet Update
Christopher Winkels
I'm finally ready to show some preliminary drawings and prices for the low cost, ready-to-assemble case I've been blathering on about for several months.

The case consists of six panels (three identical pairs; two for top/bottom, two for front/back, two for left/right sides) made from 1/2" (12mm) Baltic Birch (*or possibly Fir with Maple face and back - see below). Everything uses CARB Phase II compliant material so that people in California won't get their shipment stopped at the border. You can stain, paint, laminate, or vajazzle this to your heart's content to personalize it.

The case screws together with standard wood screws (which will be included). Using a cordless drill is recommended, but a screwdriver will work in a pinch if you don't mind sore wrists! I highly doubt assembly would take more than 15 minutes. Five to ten would be more typical.

Fourteen modules can be arranged along the face and fourteen along the back, or you can use the face only for mounting modules and just stick your power related modules in the back. There's ample room inside for power supplies. On a cost-per-1U of width basis this compares extremely favourably with the pre-assembled alternatives that are offered now, and the pricing benefits get even better when one considers the savings in shipping costs. Plus if you decide you want to sell it later, it unscrews and can ship to the next user for a reasonable price.

The finished panels look like this: