POWER w/o HP?

Gear, Suggestions and Discussion.

Moderators: Kent, infradead, computer controlled, flight

Post Reply
User avatar
pacific202
Common Wiggler
Posts: 200
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 5:39 am
Location: Seattle Area

POWER w/o HP?

Post by pacific202 » Sun Dec 25, 2011 3:06 pm

Is it possible to use the POWER barebones without the faceplate? I am constantly out of room and don't want to use up rack frontage.

User avatar
computer controlled
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3831
Joined: Sun May 31, 2009 4:16 pm
Location: Seattle, WA

Post by computer controlled » Sun Dec 25, 2011 9:25 pm

I'm going to say no, but don't quote me on that. I don't have one in my possession, but I'm guessing using any kind of powered module sans faceplate isn't the best idea.

:despair:
Stuff: SH-01A . TR-8S . MX-1 . D-20 . Waldorf MicroQ - Waldorf Microwave II . Ensoniq EPS 16+ . Yamaha MODX6 . MPC Live . Avalon BassLine . Behringer Neutron . Behringer MS-101 . Behringer Pro-1 . Behringer K-2 . Behringer TD-3 . Microvolt 3900 . BeatStep Pro . Keystep .

User avatar
Rod Serling Fan Club
aquatic hitchhiker
Posts: 3760
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 12:13 am
Location: MNTN

Post by Rod Serling Fan Club » Sun Dec 25, 2011 9:34 pm

Yes, it's fine

User avatar
pacific202
Common Wiggler
Posts: 200
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 5:39 am
Location: Seattle Area

Post by pacific202 » Sun Dec 25, 2011 11:11 pm

Is it simply a matter of screwing the circuit board into the case? Are there any tips or hints from those that have done it?

Thanks!

User avatar
computer controlled
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3831
Joined: Sun May 31, 2009 4:16 pm
Location: Seattle, WA

Post by computer controlled » Sun Dec 25, 2011 11:16 pm

Ah, I see what you mean. Housing it inside the case would be fine, just keep it in a spot where it won't get touched by anything.
Stuff: SH-01A . TR-8S . MX-1 . D-20 . Waldorf MicroQ - Waldorf Microwave II . Ensoniq EPS 16+ . Yamaha MODX6 . MPC Live . Avalon BassLine . Behringer Neutron . Behringer MS-101 . Behringer Pro-1 . Behringer K-2 . Behringer TD-3 . Microvolt 3900 . BeatStep Pro . Keystep .

User avatar
Rod Serling Fan Club
aquatic hitchhiker
Posts: 3760
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 12:13 am
Location: MNTN

Post by Rod Serling Fan Club » Mon Dec 26, 2011 12:40 am

Yes, I've done it. Goiks used it in a few cases I believe. I'm not sure what you want to know. It takes up space so expect to use shallow modules over it if it is in a shallow case. You could put the on/off switch elsewhere on the case or not use a switch and just unplug to power off.
Last edited by Rod Serling Fan Club on Mon Dec 26, 2011 10:35 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Rod Serling Fan Club
aquatic hitchhiker
Posts: 3760
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 12:13 am
Location: MNTN

Post by Rod Serling Fan Club » Mon Dec 26, 2011 12:42 am

You have to do the wiring. You could always use uzeus for something that takes up less panel space if you aren't comfortable with electronic diy.

User avatar
pacific202
Common Wiggler
Posts: 200
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 5:39 am
Location: Seattle Area

Post by pacific202 » Mon Dec 26, 2011 12:44 am

Thanks, I'll talk to Matthew about it. I've been scoping out a new case from him and would like to support FoH.

User avatar
flight
The Plague Bearer
Posts: 1307
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 8:12 pm
Location: Seattle, WA, US
Contact:

Post by flight » Mon Dec 26, 2011 10:14 pm

Yes, you can definitely do this. This is what Goike uses on his wood boats. You can mount it to the inside of your case by using the front panel as a template for the holes for the switch, jack, and standoffs.
~flight
flight(at)flightofharmony(dot)com
http://www.flightofharmony.com

Post Reply

Return to “Flight of Harmony”