New Sequencer by Blacet!!!!!!!!!

Blacet, Metalbox, Synthasonic, PAiA and the rest.... a frac frenzy!

Moderators: Kent, Joe., analogdigital, infradead, lisa, parasitk, plord

User avatar
Kwote
Voltage Controlled Crackpot
Posts: 3107
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: SF Bay Area

Post by Kwote » Tue Jan 15, 2008 4:16 pm

okay i've been rereading all the listed functions on Blacet's page and i'm getting really juiced about having a HEXZONE. the only thing i don't quite understand is the Switch out? can i get some clarification on it's function?
Self expression is as essential as breathing
kwotemusic.com
my other sites

User avatar
Chuck E. Jesus
holier than thou
Posts: 2882
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 4:13 pm
Location: next to Serious Fun!

Post by Chuck E. Jesus » Tue Jan 15, 2008 4:45 pm

nathankirchner wrote:[
It certainly is a SERIOUS addition. I get the feeling a LOT of people will be adding a Flac rack to their modulars just to get one of these in.
you got that right...been waiting for the Plan B Milton, but the Blacet looks more my style...

nathankirchner
Common Wiggler
Posts: 120
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 6:45 am

Post by nathankirchner » Tue Jan 15, 2008 4:50 pm

Kwote wrote: the only thing i don't quite understand is the Switch out? can i get some clarification on it's function?
The Hex Zone has 16 switch inputs, labelled 1-16 on the front panel. Whatever signal is connected to the active switch (whether it be audio, LFO or CV) will appear on the SWITCH OUT jack. The active switch is set on a step by step basis in the sequencer.
I got lazy and let my website die - it sucked anyway, you're not missing out on anything.

nathankirchner
Common Wiggler
Posts: 120
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 6:45 am

Post by nathankirchner » Tue Jan 15, 2008 4:52 pm

ross g wrote: you got that right...been waiting for the Plan B Milton, but the Blacet looks more my style...
Yeah, i sent an email to Plan B (EAR) to ask if the wanted my help :D
I got lazy and let my website die - it sucked anyway, you're not missing out on anything.

User avatar
Kwote
Voltage Controlled Crackpot
Posts: 3107
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: SF Bay Area

Post by Kwote » Tue Jan 15, 2008 5:50 pm

nathankirchner wrote:
Kwote wrote: the only thing i don't quite understand is the Switch out? can i get some clarification on it's function?
The Hex Zone has 16 switch inputs, labelled 1-16 on the front panel. Whatever signal is connected to the active switch (whether it be audio, LFO or CV) will appear on the SWITCH OUT jack. The active switch is set on a step by step basis in the sequencer.
oh okay. makes total sense. the missing piece in my sequencer knowledge. not owning a cv sequencer makes it harder to grasp but at this point i've gleamed enough information that i should have less guessing and fucking around once i acquire the HEX.
Self expression is as essential as breathing
kwotemusic.com
my other sites

zerosum
Modulation Maniac
Posts: 3750
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 9:49 pm

Post by zerosum » Tue Jan 15, 2008 6:03 pm

Cool tunes man!Cool Design!Cool posts. Good to see you here :D
I'll add one to my setup sometime next year.

User avatar
Kwote
Voltage Controlled Crackpot
Posts: 3107
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: SF Bay Area

Post by Kwote » Wed Jan 16, 2008 6:05 pm

for those who don't like Megaupload and still need a copy of the HexZone pic:

Image
Self expression is as essential as breathing
kwotemusic.com
my other sites

User avatar
Muff Wiggler
wait, what?
Posts: 7815
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 12:19 pm

Post by Muff Wiggler » Sat Jan 19, 2008 2:49 am

this just occured to me -

if there could be a second power connector on the board - probably a barrel-type connector, and Blacet offered the option of shipping a wall-wart power supply for it...

i bet you there would be a lot more sales, to Eurorack users, MMM users, etc etc etc. If it went this way, I would build my two into little angled wooden boxes.

this would be just amazing, i know it's asking a lot AND it's late in the game, I imagine the PCB run is done or at least submitted by now....

User avatar
Kwote
Voltage Controlled Crackpot
Posts: 3107
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: SF Bay Area

Post by Kwote » Sat Jan 19, 2008 2:27 pm

it's an interesting thought but i really treasure the non wall wart steez with every module enclosed together in the rack

but it would def give the extra option which is always cool
Self expression is as essential as breathing
kwotemusic.com
my other sites

Babaluma

Post by Babaluma » Mon Jan 28, 2008 7:31 am

i would also sell my mobius for a hex zone, but for one thing:

does the hex zone feature programmable GLIDE per step? without that it will be difficult to do convincing acid :twisted:

i'm imagining 2 of these would be an absolutely insane setup, like having the power of serge tkb, but without as much real time control. still, i'm sure two of these babies won't come to anywhere near the price of the tkb...

nathankirchner
Common Wiggler
Posts: 120
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 6:45 am

Post by nathankirchner » Wed Jan 30, 2008 8:35 am

Babaluma wrote: does the hex zone feature programmable GLIDE per step? without that it will be difficult to do convincing acid :twisted:
It doesn't have glide - the idea was to supply two CV outputs (settable for each step) and to use one for GLIDE or VCF or VCA or whatever control on another module.
Babaluma wrote: i'm imagining 2 of these would be an absolutely insane setup, like having the power of serge tkb, but without as much real time control. still, i'm sure two of these babies won't come to anywhere near the price of the tkb...
Yeah, I'll be getting my second unit very shortly and I can't wait!!! I want to have one for every module in my rack ;)

I can't tell you how much exactly the cost will be, but tell me how much a tkb is and I'll tell you if you have a hope of getting two Hex Zones for that price.
I got lazy and let my website die - it sucked anyway, you're not missing out on anything.

nathankirchner
Common Wiggler
Posts: 120
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 6:45 am

Post by nathankirchner » Wed Jan 30, 2008 8:39 am

nathankirchner wrote:
It doesn't have glide - the idea was to supply two CV outputs (settable for each step) and to use one for GLIDE or VCF or VCA or whatever control on another module.
Or you can connect say CV1 to switch input 1 and CV2 to a Slew Limiter and then to switch input 2. Then connect the Switch output to the CV control of your VCO. Then use the Hex Zone sequencer to set the active switch to 1 for normal notes and switch 2 for GLIDE notes.

You with me?
I got lazy and let my website die - it sucked anyway, you're not missing out on anything.

Babaluma

Post by Babaluma » Wed Jan 30, 2008 7:23 pm

get it :wink:

sounds good, still wish it had built in glide though, so it wouldn't tie up my serge vcs, or one chanel of the hex zone!

will the hex zone feature an upgradeable OS?

serge tkb is very expensive, around $2000 US

think i'll go for two hex zones but KEEP my mobius and fat controller 8)

nathankirchner
Common Wiggler
Posts: 120
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 6:45 am

Post by nathankirchner » Thu Jan 31, 2008 3:40 am

Babaluma wrote: will the hex zone feature an upgradeable OS?
Not sure about that one, it's already pretty much been milked dry (resource wise) but its a definite possibility.
Babaluma wrote: serge tkb is very expensive, around $2000 US
Hahah... You'd be looking at,.., maybe 4,5... maybe 6? Hex Zones for that price
Babaluma wrote: think i'll go for two hex zones but KEEP my mobius and fat controller 8)
If you can afford it you should never get rid of any gear :)
I got lazy and let my website die - it sucked anyway, you're not missing out on anything.

Babaluma

Post by Babaluma » Thu Jan 31, 2008 6:20 am

thanks for your answers.

my trouble isn't so much money as the SPACE to put everything!

however. i actually quite like a smallish setup - it's so easy to become distracted by too many options!

User avatar
J.w.M.
Analog Addict
Posts: 426
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 12:03 am
Location: LA

Post by J.w.M. » Wed Feb 06, 2008 5:30 pm

So... Any new guesses as to when a picture will be released?

I need to satiate my Blacet Research porn lust.

I'm still thinking that Muff's original guess was probably a good one.

User avatar
Squibbons
Common Wiggler
Posts: 130
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 12:15 pm
Location: Dallas, Tx
Contact:

Post by Squibbons » Wed Feb 06, 2008 6:18 pm

- The tempo range is insane! 1/2BPM up to 300BPM (30s per step to ~40ms per step) on internal clock and it will track from 1/4BPM to ~1500BPM (~60 per step to ~1ms per step)
Since this wasn't explicitly said anywhere, can you specify a specific tempo with this module? Like, can I set it to clock out at 134BPM. None of the current frac modules have anything I can specifically clock at. It makes it difficult when trying to sync up with other equipment that doesn't have clock ins/outs. Though most of those do have tap clocks. And speaking of tap clocks, I'm really tempted to buy get into a euro setup just for the plan b tap clock.

nathankirchner
Common Wiggler
Posts: 120
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 6:45 am

Post by nathankirchner » Wed Feb 06, 2008 7:14 pm

Squibbons wrote:
Since this wasn't explicitly said anywhere, can you specify a specific tempo with this module? Like, can I set it to clock out at 134BPM. None of the current frac modules have anything I can specifically clock at.
You can set the tempo at any interger value between 1 & 300 BPM. for instance 134, 135, 175, 121, would all be fine.

You set the tempo as a number on the LCD - so no guess work.
I got lazy and let my website die - it sucked anyway, you're not missing out on anything.

nathankirchner
Common Wiggler
Posts: 120
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 6:45 am

Post by nathankirchner » Wed Feb 06, 2008 7:17 pm

J.w.M. wrote:So... Any new guesses as to when a picture will be released?
By the end of the month - barring any unforseen circumstances - would be a fair guess.
I got lazy and let my website die - it sucked anyway, you're not missing out on anything.

User avatar
Squibbons
Common Wiggler
Posts: 130
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 12:15 pm
Location: Dallas, Tx
Contact:

Post by Squibbons » Wed Feb 06, 2008 7:34 pm

nathankirchner wrote: You can set the tempo at any interger value between 1 & 300 BPM. for instance 134, 135, 175, 121, would all be fine.

You set the tempo as a number on the LCD - so no guess work.
Awesome. =)

User avatar
J.w.M.
Analog Addict
Posts: 426
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 12:03 am
Location: LA

Post by J.w.M. » Wed Feb 06, 2008 8:25 pm

Good to hear! Thanks for the response-- I can't wait!

User avatar
Muff Wiggler
wait, what?
Posts: 7815
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 12:19 pm

Post by Muff Wiggler » Sun Feb 10, 2008 5:30 pm

Muff Wiggler wrote:I will speculate $349 as a price, and March 31st as a release date
Just noticed that the price is up on the Blacet page -

Assembled: $328
Kit: $246


Not available yet - status is "testing production units"

So I may be about a month late on my release date, but pretty close on the price 8)

User avatar
Muff Wiggler
wait, what?
Posts: 7815
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 12:19 pm

Post by Muff Wiggler » Sun Feb 10, 2008 5:33 pm

also - looks like it may be a 'shallow' module compared to most Blacets

I *really* hope this is the case

Image

User avatar
J.w.M.
Analog Addict
Posts: 426
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 12:03 am
Location: LA

Post by J.w.M. » Sun Feb 10, 2008 9:27 pm

Not bad price predictions! $246-- seems very reasonable (and a bit random-- maybe it rounds out to a nice even number in California or something).

It looks great. I'm thinking that it'll be a nice centerpiece to my second rack (which I'll post about soon here and on my blog).

Any particular reason why you're hoping for a shallower module format?

User avatar
Muff Wiggler
wait, what?
Posts: 7815
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 12:19 pm

Post by Muff Wiggler » Sun Feb 10, 2008 9:33 pm

yeah! actually since i don't have room in my two 'blacet' towers for these, I was hoping for a shallow module - if so I think I may be able to build it into a small angled box, and it just may fit in the little shelf space between the upper and lower section of my towers. This would just be too perfect

Post Reply

Return to “Fractional Rack Modules”