Choices joystick - offset when using audio ins?

Gear, Suggestions and Discussion.

Moderators: Kent, infradead, computer controlled, flight

Post Reply
User avatar
matttech
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 9658
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 1:12 pm
Location: Manchester, UK

Choices joystick - offset when using audio ins?

Post by matttech » Mon Feb 20, 2012 5:55 pm

hi all

just wondering - when i'm using aduio inputs into the X/Y ins - to blend between 2 different signals - the offset doesn't seem to do anything. i'd have presumed it would give me a little bit of signal when the joystick was fully down or left - kind of raising the start point, rather than the signal fading to zero. but it doesn't do anything at all

pretty sure it's ok with CVs.

have got the "ref" set to the "wave"

should it do something or not? :despair:

i thought it'd be like the "gain" knob on a vca

any ideas?

cheers
matt

User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 806
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 5:46 am
Location: Melbourne

Post by Stab Frenzy » Mon Feb 20, 2012 8:37 pm

Unless I'm mistaken wouldn't it just add a DC offset to your audio signal? ie wouldn't make it louder or do anything useful and would be removed when the signal went into the next AC coupled input.

User avatar
mojopin
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1254
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2010 7:34 am

Post by mojopin » Mon Feb 20, 2012 9:11 pm

wavy line is for ac input. try the dc input and see if that works.

User avatar
matttech
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 9658
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 1:12 pm
Location: Manchester, UK

Post by matttech » Tue Feb 21, 2012 7:07 am

mojopin wrote:wavy line is for ac input. try the dc input and see if that works.
but i'm using it for audio, using the in sockets

when in DC mode the offset works as expected, or if you're just sending voltages out of it using its internal voltage generator

i thought that when you were using the inputs it essentially operated as a vca, controlling the AMOUNT of whatever signal was inputted into it

User avatar
bluemeanie
wiggle me wiggle me wee
Posts: 329
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2010 9:16 am
Location: Melbourne

Post by bluemeanie » Tue Feb 21, 2012 8:20 am

just a couple of attenuators... with dc offset built in

kinda like maths channel 2 n 3

not gonna 'open' the attenuator.... thats what the stick is for!
nodules on my modules

www.soundcloud.com/s-k-p

Post Reply

Return to “Flight of Harmony”