MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Module Library & Module Maker - Next Generation?
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> RackPlanner  
Author Module Library & Module Maker - Next Generation?
BananaPlug
Thinking about totally redoing the Module Maker and the Module Library hmmm.....

The Maker & Library were started without knowing how things would go or what people would do with them. Now we have a better idea about all that. I'd like it to improve them both and I want to make it possible for other people to help maintain the collection, much like the forum has moderators. This is something I do in my spare time and I'm a web developer with my own software development projects to keep me busy. If new Maker & Library are a little more in line with my current software development projects there's some positive feedback in both directions. So I'm starting this thread to put some ideas out and fish for comments before deciding if a re-do makes sense. If it's going to happen at all I need to make a plan and to make a plan I need to hear from people like you.

It would still be free and the existing collection would be migrated to the new system.

The library would be divided up better and browsing it would be more like browsing a shopping site's online catalog. You could approach the catalog in more than one way (format or manufacturer), search for stuff by name or attribute (find all 4hp modules by a certain maker).

Moderators would be enlisted to help maintain sections they are interested in. Crowd based moderation could be done with a voting system. Often we get a Module Maker contribution for a module that exists but the image is different. We could have a voting system that would let the user's settle this.