Volta Cubase setup

Discussion and support for MOTU's Volta software.

Moderators: Kent, stretta

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 14021
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Fri Jul 17, 2009 4:51 am

Well, I resisted this long...

you could just try Silent Way instead, which runs as a VST natively.

http://www.expert-sleepers.co.uk/silentway.html

auricle
Common Wiggler
Posts: 245
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2009 8:58 am
Location: Moscow/Dudley

Post by auricle » Fri Jul 17, 2009 4:55 am

os wrote:Well, I resisted this long...

you could just try Silent Way instead, which runs as a VST natively.

http://www.expert-sleepers.co.uk/silentway.html
:)

I know about Silent Way. I might get it for Cubase use as it's very cheap and keep Volta for Ableton Live (or until MOTU accidentally stumbles across the hundreds of requests to make a VST version of Volta).

Analog>Plugins
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 283
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 10:05 am
Location: Uk

Post by Analog>Plugins » Fri Jul 17, 2009 5:19 am

I don't think MOTU will ever do a vst version :huh:

I'm using Expert Sleepers at the moment for Cubase which works really well. Not as mature yet as Volta but certainly getting there with the updates.

Calibrates really easy as well, seems to lock to any waveform I throw at it for calibration.

auricle
Common Wiggler
Posts: 245
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2009 8:58 am
Location: Moscow/Dudley

Post by auricle » Fri Jul 17, 2009 5:39 am

Analog>Plugins wrote:I don't think MOTU will ever do a vst version :huh:

I'm using Expert Sleepers at the moment for Cubase which works really well. Not as mature yet as Volta but certainly getting there with the updates.

Calibrates really easy as well, seems to lock to any waveform I throw at it for calibration.
That's good news. Perhaps some healthy competition will spur MOTU along. If Expert Sleepers does the same thing but costs a lot less and is compatible with more hosts and platforms then it's really a no-brainer for the customer.

I've found that MOTU are pretty much Mac-centric and don't spend half the amount of effort trying to get things working well for PC. I would just like a VST version for Cubase Mac.

User avatar
1nput0utput
Common Wiggler
Posts: 212
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2009 10:00 pm
Location: USA

Post by 1nput0utput » Fri Jul 17, 2009 8:40 am

auricle wrote:I've found that MOTU are pretty much Mac-centric and don't spend half the amount of effort trying to get things working well for PC. I would just like a VST version for Cubase Mac.
Didn't MOTU just put out a bunch of Windows driver updates for all of their audio hardware? I think I saw them on their website.

auricle
Common Wiggler
Posts: 245
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2009 8:58 am
Location: Moscow/Dudley

Post by auricle » Fri Jul 17, 2009 9:18 am

1nput0utput wrote:
auricle wrote:I've found that MOTU are pretty much Mac-centric and don't spend half the amount of effort trying to get things working well for PC. I would just like a VST version for Cubase Mac.
Didn't MOTU just put out a bunch of Windows driver updates for all of their audio hardware? I think I saw them on their website.
If you look at the Windows section of MOTUNation forum, you'll see people who complain of bugs and decreasing performance because of the new drivers. When I was on Windows XP, I kept the original drivers supplied with my Ultralite Mk3 because I got worse performance with the newer drivers.

Post Reply

Return to “Volta”