DMM = DVM?

From circuitbending to homebrew stompboxes & synths, keep the DIY spirit alive!

Moderators: Kent, Joe., analogdigital, infradead, lisa, parasitk, plord, sduck

Post Reply
User avatar
haricots
Droppin' Loads
Posts: 1501
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 2:32 pm
Location: Chelsea & Cowansville, QC, Canada

DMM = DVM?

Post by haricots » Thu Jul 09, 2009 3:46 pm

I'm having a fark of a time tuning my Pro One by ear. I have a DMM, but can this somehow be used to measure volts by making leads that can plug directly into the 1/4 output?

User avatar
ElectricPuppy
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 10:15 am

Post by ElectricPuppy » Thu Jul 09, 2009 3:56 pm

Yeah, you could but what's the 1/4 outputting? Audio? You won't get a meaningful "voltage" reading from that. If you're tuning and you want hard figures, what you want is a frequency counter.

Unless I misunderstand what you're asking...? :despair:

User avatar
Luka
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 5369
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 9:15 am
Location: melbourne

Post by Luka » Thu Jul 09, 2009 4:22 pm

you would need a frequency counter

best thing to do with tuning is to get a reference source like a synth in ableton or some other synth you have
make sure the filter is open so you have a full osc waveform

then start at c1 and press that along with the c1 on your reference
you will hear when they are close are they will start phasing
and when they sync you will notice a nice harmony
sometimes if im a bit lost i will keep the reference not playing and then hit around the 1st octave on your out of tune keys so see which note is closest
this will give you an idea how out of tune it is

then once you nailed that move up the octaves till you get as high as it will go
then it is tunes !

not all that easy
first time i did it it drove me mad but you get the hang of it

User avatar
wetterberg
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 7673
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 5:31 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark.

Post by wetterberg » Thu Jul 09, 2009 6:59 pm

FYI a lot of people HATE using frequency counters, and simply use inexpensive guitar tuners instead.

User avatar
haricots
Droppin' Loads
Posts: 1501
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 2:32 pm
Location: Chelsea & Cowansville, QC, Canada

Post by haricots » Thu Jul 09, 2009 9:02 pm

ElectricPuppy wrote:Yeah, you could but what's the 1/4 outputting? Audio? You won't get a meaningful "voltage" reading from that. If you're tuning and you want hard figures, what you want is a frequency counter.

Unless I misunderstand what you're asking...? :despair:
Sorry, I meant the cv out, not audio out. Brain fart.

User avatar
haricots
Droppin' Loads
Posts: 1501
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 2:32 pm
Location: Chelsea & Cowansville, QC, Canada

Post by haricots » Thu Jul 09, 2009 9:06 pm

Luka wrote:then start at c1 and press that along with the c1 on your reference
you will hear when they are close are they will start phasing
and when they sync you will notice a nice harmony
sometimes if im a bit lost i will keep the reference not playing and then hit around the 1st octave on your out of tune keys so see which note is closest
this will give you an idea how out of tune it is

then once you nailed that move up the octaves till you get as high as it will go
then it is tunes !
Thanks Luka. The issue I'm finding is with all the offsets, scales, hi trim, -1v trim variables > http://www.flatline.net/Projects/Audio/ ... Fig51L.gif

I'm following the instructions (http://www.flatline.net/Projects/Audio/ ... Section5-3) but I'm just not getting there ....
Last edited by haricots on Thu Jul 09, 2009 10:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
haricots
Droppin' Loads
Posts: 1501
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 2:32 pm
Location: Chelsea & Cowansville, QC, Canada

Post by haricots » Thu Jul 09, 2009 9:17 pm

Never mind, I figured it out. Tuned much better now after trimming like mad. :)

Post Reply

Return to “Music Tech DIY”