Controlling midi in Ableton Live

Discussion and support for MOTU's Volta software.

Moderators: Kent, stretta

Post Reply
U=I=O
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 12:45 pm

Controlling midi in Ableton Live

Post by U=I=O » Tue Jul 14, 2009 4:03 am

Hey guys, im using volta with a moog voyager old school.....ive managed to calbirate the moog, use the trigger and step sequencer and stuff but still cant figure out the midi..ive sent a midi track to volta but then what?? The manual doesnt say much in regards to midi and live...am i just missing something obvious...

User avatar
1nput0utput
Common Wiggler
Posts: 212
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2009 10:00 pm
Location: USA

Post by 1nput0utput » Tue Jul 14, 2009 8:29 am

What type of MIDI data are you transmitting to the Volta plug-in? If it's note data, then you need a voice control source (V1 P, V1 ENV, etc.). If it's continuous controller data, then you need a MIDI control source (MIDI 1, MIDI 2, etc.). If you have a step sequencer and trigger sequencer working well and the slot with the step seq. is calibrated, remove the step seq. and trigger seq. and replace them with a voice pitch control source and voice envelope control source, respectively. Then send notes to the Volta plug-in.

U=I=O
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 12:45 pm

Post by U=I=O » Tue Jul 14, 2009 3:43 pm

...cool ill try that cheers....
i want to use the ableton clip based sequencing and arpeggiator

Post Reply

Return to “Volta”