MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Techniques for playing Ribbon Controllers?
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> General Gear  
Author Techniques for playing Ribbon Controllers?
ex_dead_teenager
I've got a Doepfer R2M controller and I'm wondering if anyone here's got suggestions on how to play it accurately, it quantizes great and it's really flexible. I've been playing guitar for 15 years and so I figured it wouldn't be that difficult to transfer that to ribbon playing but what I'm discovering is that with no points of reference on the controller I'm not very good at it.

Does any one on here have any suggestions on how to get past this?

I prefer to use it in 12 tone mode with three octaves available on the ribbon.
felix
I would imagine that it just takes a while to build up the muscle memory for where certain notes are going to be located (if you're quantizing it).

When I first started playing the Theremin, it was almost impossible for me to return to a particular pitch, but now I can at least get close, and it's all just from practicing and getting used to how much movement it takes to increase/decrease pitch.

If you really need the markings while you're getting started, there's always scotch tape and markers!
SynthBaron
I'm gonna say its probably easier if it's not quantized.
Christopher Winkels
I recently picked up a Walking Stick ribbon controller and while I find it great for general modulation duties, when it's mapped to pitch hitting the right notes is a chore. I think I'm going to put those small adhesive dots (the 1/4" diameter kind sold at any stationery store) on the wooden case to mark note intervals. One colour for "white" and one for "black" notes, at least until I can build up the aforementioned muscle memory.