questions about the waveform city module

Discussion and support for Wiard Products

Moderators: Kent, grantrichter, carygrace

Post Reply
thesnow
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1793
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 5:40 pm

questions about the waveform city module

Post by thesnow » Fri Sep 14, 2012 3:00 pm

Do the ATTACK and RELEASE knobs use different pots than the other knobs on the module? They feel different and not as firm as the other knobs on the module. Do yours feel like this, too? Just wanted to know if this is normal.

Also, using the module alone and not patched, just audio out from the VCA OUT jack to hear the different waveforms and banks, on any different Bank and Waveform, if you turn the Coarse knob all the way clockwise does the waveform become wild? kind of sporadic or random territory? I've owned other oscillators in the past and what I'm generally used to happening when you turn the coarse of the oscillator all the way clockwise either it goes into inaudible signal or stays at very high pitch, but steady, sound/pitch. But with the Waveform City, when only plugged out of the VCA OUT to listen to the different waveforms, when you turn the Coarse all the way clockwise it becomes wild and sporadic sounding! as opposed to inaudible or a really steady high pitch sound/pitch. I just wanted to know if this is normal on the Waveform City.

Would really appreciate your help. Thanks.

User avatar
laserpalace
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1088
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 9:51 pm
Contact:

Post by laserpalace » Fri Sep 14, 2012 3:08 pm

Just tried out the high registers and there is a bit of digital noise depending on your waveform selection, somewhat similar to the woggle out although less audible. Regarding the pots mine are all the same across all three modules. Some are a little more stiff than others but nothing terribly noticeable. Hopefully that helps!

User avatar
Ekofisk
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1157
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 10:11 am
Location: Oslo

Post by Ekofisk » Fri Sep 14, 2012 3:11 pm

laserpalace wrote:Just tried out the high registers and there is a bit of digital noise depending on your waveform selection, somewhat similar to the woggle out although less audible. Regarding the pots mine are all the same across all three modules. Some are a little more stiff than others but nothing terribly noticeable. Hopefully that helps!
Same here. On both mine.

thesnow
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1793
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 5:40 pm

Post by thesnow » Fri Sep 14, 2012 3:34 pm

Thank you guys so much. :hug:

Admittedly I didn't know just how deep the WC module was especially for my first 300 module but I am having so much fun with it. Already read through the manual a couple of times. What a super module! Waiting on a couple more modules at the moment.

Thanks for responding to my pm's earlier too laserp.

another question, might be a silly question but just for peace of mind, a few of the First waveforms on the first set of banks are sine waves, it is regular that those sine waves from the VCA OUT sound different than coming out of the direct SINE output? They are both sine waves but the direct SINE output is analog right? thus the difference in timbre, kind of thicker sounding right? Was just comaparing the difference in the sounds. Thanks.
Last edited by thesnow on Fri Sep 14, 2012 9:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
laserpalace
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1088
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 9:51 pm
Contact:

Post by laserpalace » Fri Sep 14, 2012 4:14 pm

No problem! Honestly it's what brought me to the 300 format. Regarding the sines you are correct, there should be a bit of difference between the two. Much more noticeable when you start adding FM. All the waveform outputs are analog, and the WAVE OUT (WFC Digital OUT) is normalled to the VCA OUT.

thesnow
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1793
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 5:40 pm

Post by thesnow » Fri Sep 14, 2012 4:44 pm

Thanks!

1 more question, last one after this one I think!

I know the 10V/+/-5V switch is used for hooking up the waveform city to different external gear, but I also noticed that it also changes the tone of the module's sound when you switch it. What position do you generally use that switch in when patching your 300 modules and is it okay to use this switch in that way to change the tone of the module sound if you want to or does it affect the PSU in any bad way like that? meaning, does this switch become useless if you're never going to use the module with external gear? this is the type of tech stuff that becomes more blurry to me as I've never had to or wanted to cross different synths/modulars together before.

Thanks!

Norman_Phay

Post by Norman_Phay » Fri Sep 14, 2012 5:19 pm

I generally use the +/-5v switch position for processing audio waveforms, and the 0-10v switch position for quantising CVs using the bank 16 tables.

User avatar
chamomileshark
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3454
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 8:24 am
Location: UK

Post by chamomileshark » Fri Sep 14, 2012 5:29 pm

if it's a second hand module try this - gently pull out the "volume" knob. If it comes out you have the lin/log mod on the AR
Key Gear: Wiard 300 Series, EMS VCS3, Frac Modular (Blacet, Wiard, Bananalogue & Synthesis Technology).

Pastoral Music: Mark Ellery Griffiths
Music: https://markgriffiths.bandcamp.com/
Website: https://markellerygriffithsmusic.blogspot.com/


Experimental & IDM: Mark Dalton Griffiths
Music https://markdaltongriffiths.bandcamp.com/
Website:https://markdaltongriffithsmusic.blogspot.com/

thesnow
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1793
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 5:40 pm

Post by thesnow » Fri Sep 14, 2012 5:35 pm

Norman_Phay wrote:I generally use the +/-5v switch position for processing audio waveforms, and the 0-10v switch position for quantising CVs using the bank 16 tables.
processing audio waveforms from Wiard 300 modules ? (or external?)

still trying to wrap my head around this.
chamomileshark wrote:if it's a second hand module try this - gently pull out the "volume" knob. If it comes out you have the lin/log mod on the AR
it's not second hand.

User avatar
laserpalace
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1088
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 9:51 pm
Contact:

Post by laserpalace » Fri Sep 14, 2012 7:59 pm

chamomileshark
Whoa didn't know that. Unfortunately my module doesn't have that feature, one of the first 10 made actually.
I generally use the +/-5v switch position for processing audio waveforms, and the 0-10v switch position for quantising CVs using the bank 16 tables.
+1

thesnow
Try running your analog outs into the Wave IN for interesting results.

thesnow
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1793
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 5:40 pm

Post by thesnow » Fri Sep 14, 2012 8:40 pm

okay thanks.

I guess I just need to study some more to learn in which applications is switching the set of the output to 0 to +10V range applicable/necessary and -5 to +5 volt range applicable/necessary.

Anyway I find that studying/playing with an instrument more eventually unfolds these concepts and that's exactly what I'm gonna be doing.

btw examining my module again the knobs are fine and it is like laserp said, some are a little more stiff than others but nothing terribly noticeable.

Thanks!

User avatar
subterryanean
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 393
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 12:31 pm
Location: Rochester, MN

Post by subterryanean » Sat Sep 15, 2012 3:23 am

That switch is for the "WS" input. The saw output of the internal oscillator is normaled to this, which would be a -5/+5 signal. If you want to run other signals through the 'digital waves' you'd plug that into the WS in. Using audio signals such as oscillators or the output of the filter you want it set to -5/+5, with control signals such as an envelope or Wogglebug stuff you want to set it to 0-10.

This of course is just a general rule, you can experiment with different settings, it won't hurt anything.

(looking forward to the euro MegaWave!)

User avatar
el clon
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 441
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 5:10 am
Location: Berkeley, CA

Post by el clon » Sat Sep 15, 2012 3:34 am

Definitely don't feel bad about asking a bunch of questions. I find the answers helpful, too. These modules are so deep that it helps to hear people's questions and answers.

thesnow
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1793
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 5:40 pm

Post by thesnow » Sat Sep 15, 2012 2:01 pm

subterryanean wrote:That switch is for the "WS" input. The saw output of the internal oscillator is normaled to this, which would be a -5/+5 signal. If you want to run other signals through the 'digital waves' you'd plug that into the WS in. Using audio signals such as oscillators or the output of the filter you want it set to -5/+5, with control signals such as an envelope or Wogglebug stuff you want to set it to 0-10.
(looking forward to the euro MegaWave!)
Thanks so much.
subterryanean wrote:This of course is just a general rule, you can experiment with different settings, it won't hurt anything.
THIS especially helps a lot. Thank you.
el clon wrote:Definitely don't feel bad about asking a bunch of questions. I find the answers helpful, too. These modules are so deep that it helps to hear people's questions and answers.
Thanks. That is great.

User avatar
chamomileshark
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3454
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 8:24 am
Location: UK

Post by chamomileshark » Sat Sep 15, 2012 5:41 pm

thesnow wrote:
still trying to wrap my head around this.
chamomileshark wrote:if it's a second hand module try this - gently pull out the "volume" knob. If it comes out you have the lin/log mod on the AR
it's not second hand.
There are a couple of extra mods for a small extra cost - you'd only not know about it if you got one second hand
Key Gear: Wiard 300 Series, EMS VCS3, Frac Modular (Blacet, Wiard, Bananalogue & Synthesis Technology).

Pastoral Music: Mark Ellery Griffiths
Music: https://markgriffiths.bandcamp.com/
Website: https://markellerygriffithsmusic.blogspot.com/


Experimental & IDM: Mark Dalton Griffiths
Music https://markdaltongriffiths.bandcamp.com/
Website:https://markdaltongriffithsmusic.blogspot.com/

User avatar
el clon
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 441
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 5:10 am
Location: Berkeley, CA

Post by el clon » Sun Sep 16, 2012 12:01 am

chamomileshark wrote: There are a couple of extra mods for a small extra cost - you'd only not know about it if you got one second hand
Grant stopped offering the mods a long time ago. I ordered my first 300-series modules almost 5 years ago and he told me then that he wouldn't do them on any new orders because they were taking too much time (he said he hadn't anticipated that practically everyone would want the mods) and he was trying to get caught up...

User avatar
carygrace
If I had two dead rats, I'd give you one
Posts: 140
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 2:50 pm
Location: Wiard Pangalactic Headquarters

Post by carygrace » Sun Sep 16, 2012 10:18 am

thesnow wrote:
btw examining my module again the knobs are fine and it is like laserp said, some are a little more stiff than others but nothing terribly noticeable.
The "Attack" and "Release" pots are in fact a different value from the rest of the pots on the module, and therefore would have been a different batch purchased at a different time. Some batches of pots are slightly stiffer than others, I'm guessing due to variations in amount and viscosity of lubricant (they come lubricated with a sort of oil), but functionality is the same, and I do check that all the pots are working properly as part of the test procedure before shipping anything. If you have any trouble, let me know. The pots are all field-replaceable (on a 3-pin connector, so no soldering needed).

thesnow
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1793
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 5:40 pm

Post by thesnow » Sun Sep 16, 2012 1:29 pm

carygrace wrote:
thesnow wrote:
btw examining my module again the knobs are fine and it is like laserp said, some are a little more stiff than others but nothing terribly noticeable.
The "Attack" and "Release" pots are in fact a different value from the rest of the pots on the module, and therefore would have been a different batch purchased at a different time. Some batches of pots are slightly stiffer than others, I'm guessing due to variations in amount and viscosity of lubricant (they come lubricated with a sort of oil), but functionality is the same, and I do check that all the pots are working properly as part of the test procedure before shipping anything. If you have any trouble, let me know. The pots are all field-replaceable (on a 3-pin connector, so no soldering needed).
Thank you, Cary. I knew I felt a difference! But it was nothing problematic or unusable in any way so I wanted to state the fact that everything was fine. I have no doubt that everything gets tested before shipping! The inside of the module looks absolutely gorgeous! I probably opened it at least 3 times before fixing it to my frame and case just to look at it! It's a work of Art!

Post Reply

Return to “Wiard”