MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Explain the Buchla 256e Please...
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Buchla, EMS & Serge  
Author Explain the Buchla 256e Please...
drewskee
Ok, so I am no newbie having a two panel custom Serge and a panel of Buchla 200e with the 261 / 281 / 292 / 266...which can do lots of stuff.

I am thinking about a second 200e panel with an additional 261, 206, 256 and possibly a Morph Filter (now that I would have presets via the 206) or the Freq Shifter.

I have read here and there that the 256 does not really do "mixing" or cross fading and I am trying to get the TRUTH on whether you can fully crossfade between CV 1 and CV 2 inputs and/or get equal mix in the center?

If not, can someone splain' how is DOES work so I have some idea of it will do what I'd like...which is to make all sorts of weird composite mod sources using 266 + 218 + second slot of 256 etc, etc.

Thanks!

help dizzy
prscrptn
The 256e is very useful for creating complex control voltages; (see the link below).

http://xfade.com/Buchla/256/

Thanks Chris! thumbs up
drewskee
Right....thanks! Been there, read that but also have noticed others saying that the mixing/cross fading does not perform as expected...either it does not cancel out fully when at one extreme or the other...or....the mixed voltage of the two inputs did something weird/unexpected (excluding the transfer function etc).

Wish i could articulate better, cannot find the old posts from Yahoo Group etc.

Thanks again!
cbm