Tough Decision - Foregoing Euro

Anything modular synth related that is not format specific.

Moderators: Kent, Joe., analogdigital, infradead, lisa, parasitk, plord, sduck

Muff Wiggler
wait, what?

Tough Decision - Foregoing Euro

Post by Muff Wiggler » Tue Feb 26, 2008 6:48 pm

Was having this conversation via PM but I figure I would throw it out there to get you guys' comments....

In the last couple of weeks I've made a hard decision about something I've been mulling over for a couple of years. For a variety of reasons, I've decided that I'm not going to get involved with Euro rack stuff.

I can't build my modular forever. I need to let my finances recover, and soon! Also, really it gets to a point when you have a solid system, do you keep expanding it, or do you get to know it inside-out? As big as my system is, I honestly feel I've explored about 5% or less of it. When I finally stop building, I will spend about 10 years deeply investigating all the possibilities. I'm reaching that cutoff point, where the excitement of building more is getting smaller than the excitement of having a 'finished' system to get intimate with. I'm really, almost done. I have about a dozen frac modules I still want, then Wiard 300, then done.

My decision about Euro rack is for a variety of reasons, pretty much all related to the above.