Has anyone here built a euro format Klee?

From circuitbending to homebrew stompboxes & synths, keep the DIY spirit alive!

Moderators: Kent, Joe., analogdigital, infradead, lisa, parasitk, plord, sduck

Post Reply
User avatar
jonkull
Lowest Common Denominator Patcher
Posts: 2506
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2008 7:02 pm
Location: Burbank, CA

Has anyone here built a euro format Klee?

Post by jonkull » Fri Jul 31, 2009 7:41 pm

If you have would you care to share your panel design and maybe the part numbers for the appropriate knobs, sliders, switches and such? This will be my first DIY project and while I can solder I'm stressing about the panel design and wiring.
If only someone would invent a synth that would allow the end user to determine the functionality. You could pick which functions were important to you in 'modules'. A 'modular', if you will. - Stretta

User avatar
Junk Rhythm
Big Bottom Shaker
Posts: 2243
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 2:16 pm
Location: Hollywood, CA

Post by Junk Rhythm » Fri Jul 31, 2009 8:30 pm

I have two sets of PCBs that I am just starting to stuff. Once I get through them I will begin the front panel layout. I can post the part numbers and .FPD file at that point. Still unsure if I'm going sliders or all knobs.

User avatar
sduck
experimental use of gravity
Posts: 13255
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 6:03 pm
Location: Vortepexaion, TN, USA

Post by sduck » Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:46 pm

While this forum is pretty cool and all that, I'd advise moving over to the Electro-music.com forums, especially the dedicated Klee forums, for questions like this. And read all the threads there - take the time, it's worth it! I believe there have been one or more euro klees built, but I'm not sure. Sorry I can't help - mine is in motm format, and it is pretty cramped even at that size.

User avatar
Scott Stites
I made him up for fun
Posts: 250
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2008 5:20 pm
Location: Mount Hope, KS

Post by Scott Stites » Sat Aug 01, 2009 12:00 am

Yes, it does help to keep the Klee technical support all in one place. I have no clue as to how fora work, and don't know if it would even be possible, but it would be cool if these threads could be mirrored between the two, for everybody's convenience.

In any event, my goal is to have anybody who embarks on a Klee build to actually have a Klee in the end. If it boils right down to it, and you have a Klee wired up and ready to go, and on-line tech support isn't going anywhere, I will accept a sad Klee being shipped to me, and I'll get it working. I've done this before. I do not charge a dime for this - it's a labor of love on my part. Just cover shipping (my wife wouldn't stand for me paying to send it back). And, make sure it's a "last resort" situation. I have a day gig, and I wouldn't want to tick people off if I get plugged up with Klees and end up making a lot of people wait.

In the vast majority of cases, if people do have a problem, it's solved on the forum. We've got a number of people now that know quite a bit about the gazzins and gazzouts and guts of the Klee, and what to look for.

Plord, I know yours has been on the back-burner for a while. If you need any help, let me know.

Cheerios,
Scott

User avatar
Luka
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 5369
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 9:15 am
Location: melbourne

Post by Luka » Sat Aug 01, 2009 12:04 am

so has mine
im waiting for a new panel though

User avatar
Scott Stites
I made him up for fun
Posts: 250
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2008 5:20 pm
Location: Mount Hope, KS

Post by Scott Stites » Sat Aug 01, 2009 12:27 am

I suppose this wouldn't qualify as a Euro... :lol:

Rack width works, at least for me. I dunno, maybe something with some FEnds and FEars?

Also, I know the modular panels group was working on a design (though it may not be Euro). I should contact Scott Deyo to see how that came out or is coming along.

Image
Image

User avatar
fonik
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3309
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 5:54 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by fonik » Sat Aug 01, 2009 10:52 am

i did:

Image
Big Boss at fonitronik.de
Tech Buddy at Random*Source/Serge

User avatar
astroschnautzer
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1613
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2008 5:58 am
Location: Finland

Post by astroschnautzer » Sat Aug 01, 2009 11:07 am

fonik, that looks pretty impressive. Does the klee run on 15v or has anybody tried 12v?

User avatar
Scott Stites
I made him up for fun
Posts: 250
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2008 5:20 pm
Location: Mount Hope, KS

Post by Scott Stites » Sat Aug 01, 2009 1:49 pm

I love Fonik's Klee. I didn't realize it was a Euro thing, Fonik.

The Klee is specified to operate at either +/-12V or +/-15V. There are resistor values that are selected for getting either 5V gate/triggers or 10V gate/triggers with either 12V or 15V operation, and instructions for which values to use in the build document. I think Bill Manganaro provides all the values in his parts kit.

Here's a link to the build document:

http://electro-music.com/forum/download.php?id=15322

And an overview here:

http://electro-music.com/forum/download.php?id=10343

User avatar
astroschnautzer
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1613
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2008 5:58 am
Location: Finland

Post by astroschnautzer » Sat Aug 01, 2009 1:51 pm

thanks, i will look into these.

User avatar
wetterberg
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 7673
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 5:31 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark.

Post by wetterberg » Sat Aug 01, 2009 2:22 pm

To clarify; I don't think making a *module* Klee to fit inside a euro-rack makes a lot of sense, to be honest. It'll end up being at least VERY close to 84HP, in which case why not just do a 3U rack and be done with it? You'll save a relatively enormous amount of money from not putting it inside euro.

User avatar
johnnymad
turbo wiggler
Posts: 1107
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2008 9:55 pm
Location: Baton Rouge, Louisiana

Post by johnnymad » Sat Aug 01, 2009 2:27 pm

:agree:

User avatar
Popski
The Cake is a Pie
Posts: 1945
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2008 12:37 am
Location: Shame Tunnel

Post by Popski » Sun Aug 02, 2009 11:00 am

fonik wrote:i did:

Image
wow! gorgeous!! :love:

sliders > pots

User avatar
jenamu6
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2234
Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 3:25 pm
Location: Rotterdam

Post by jenamu6 » Sun Aug 02, 2009 11:23 am

Fonik can I order one like that from you?

I'll clean your house and wash your car, cook you diner........hell I'll even do a pole dance on your dinning table(that's a threat).

:yay: :yay: :yay: :yay: :yay: :yay:

User avatar
Funky40
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 5545
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2008 7:08 pm
Location: on a big voyage

Post by Funky40 » Sun Aug 02, 2009 1:37 pm

wetterberg wrote:To clarify; I don't think making a *module* Klee to fit inside a euro-rack makes a lot of sense, to be honest. .
i disagree.
finally it really depends on the certain situation.
If one has 3x 9HE Eurocase and takes this on stage, where would one put a 19" Klee ?.

wetterberg wrote: It'll end up being at least VERY close to 84HP,.
yup, it will be 84TE ! smaller than 84TE will be very cramped.
wetterberg wrote:................... in which case why not just do a 3U rack and be done with it? Y
it just depens on your racking situation what is best.
You just cannot generalise this all.
For me a 19" enclousere would not work.

wetterberg wrote: You'll save a relatively enormous amount of money from not putting it inside euro.
Here you are wrong. but again: it REALLY depend on the situation.
for me it will be much cheaper and easier to go with a Europanel.


jon, my layout is not finished and it is Abacom frontdesiger, but main layout is done.
Waht i can do is help you with spacings if you find nothing that suits.
going for a full enclousure might help to get a better Wiring situation

User avatar
jonkull
Lowest Common Denominator Patcher
Posts: 2506
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2008 7:02 pm
Location: Burbank, CA

Post by jonkull » Sun Aug 02, 2009 1:45 pm

wetterberg wrote:To clarify; I don't think making a *module* Klee to fit inside a euro-rack makes a lot of sense, to be honest. It'll end up being at least VERY close to 84HP, in which case why not just do a 3U rack and be done with it? You'll save a relatively enormous amount of money from not putting it inside euro.
Because I already have a rack to mount it in and a power supply to connect it to. How will it save me money to not do this?
If only someone would invent a synth that would allow the end user to determine the functionality. You could pick which functions were important to you in 'modules'. A 'modular', if you will. - Stretta

User avatar
jonkull
Lowest Common Denominator Patcher
Posts: 2506
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2008 7:02 pm
Location: Burbank, CA

Post by jonkull » Sun Aug 02, 2009 1:46 pm

fonik wrote:i did:

Image
This looks beautiful. Nice design.
If only someone would invent a synth that would allow the end user to determine the functionality. You could pick which functions were important to you in 'modules'. A 'modular', if you will. - Stretta

Ken MacBeth
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 468
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2009 11:54 am
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland, UK

Post by Ken MacBeth » Sun Aug 02, 2009 3:41 pm

- that is a sweet design!!

Post Reply

Return to “Music Tech DIY”