STG Time Buffer & Graphic Sequencer set up: help please!

Discussion and support for STG Soundlabs modules of all formats.

Moderators: Kent, suitandtieguy

Post Reply
User avatar
seamonkeyman
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 326
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 7:38 am
Location: All over the shop

STG Time Buffer & Graphic Sequencer set up: help please!

Post by seamonkeyman » Mon Nov 12, 2012 6:38 am

Hi, sorry if this is a noob question, but I can't find much on this subject anywhere...

I'm sending dinsync into my STG Time Buffer from a Doepfer MCV24. The time buffer is connected to my STG Graphic Sequencer. Should I see the graphic sequencer step through the sequence when I run my sequencer (Logic)?

Logic/MCV24 is sending clock data, as I can run a clock out into the STG Graphic Sequencer shift input and see sequence run, but the dinsync connection/time buffer doesn't seem to do anything when I run Logic.

Any ideas? Does the time buffer require any specific type of din sync data? Perhaps the MCV24 is incompatible?

Again, sorry if this is a totally stupid question, I don't know much about din sync, and I'm not sure how to check what the Time Buffer should be doing...

Many thanks!

S.

User avatar
Just me
Has enough VCA's
Posts: 4518
Joined: Sat Apr 10, 2010 11:45 am
Location: Downtown

Post by Just me » Mon Nov 12, 2012 7:26 am

Are you providing a run signal with the clock? It won't step without the run signal being asserted (This isn't a trigger, it must be asserted the entire time you want the sequencer to run.)
If I have water in my ear, is it safe for me to listen to electronic music?

User avatar
mikecameron
Thread Killer
Posts: 977
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 2:13 am
Location: Peoria, IL
Contact:

Post by mikecameron » Mon Nov 12, 2012 1:02 pm

Not being familiar with the MCV24, I looked at the manual. Do you have the SYNC output configured correctly for the Time Buffer? Roland style is what you want.

From the manual: "5-pin DIN sync socket output on rear panel, can be programmed to any standard such as Roland (24), Korg (48), Linn (96) etc.."

Also make sure SYNC polarity is positive.

User avatar
giorgio
NITE MIND
Posts: 2459
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 6:42 pm
Location: BRAND NEW YORK

Post by giorgio » Mon Nov 12, 2012 1:15 pm

if you have any old roland gear around it makes testing easy, I have used my time buffer with a 606, 909 and x0xb0x and all of them worked quite well. haven't tried a computer tho
▲✌♡✂☃☂☁☀☻☹☺♢✄✐☒☠☣☢☤☎✇✈✖▼

User avatar
seamonkeyman
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 326
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 7:38 am
Location: All over the shop

Seems to be fixed

Post by seamonkeyman » Mon Nov 12, 2012 1:18 pm

Thanks guys. In case anybody else has this problem here's what seems to have been wrong:-

I think I was sending the wrong clock data. I switched from Logic to Nuendo, and played about with the synchronisation options in the transport menu.

There I noticed that if only sent midi clock data (and selected the start and stop options) the STG Graphic Sequencer started to pick up the din sync.

Back into Logic I noticed that I was sending both midi clock and midi time code data (Command click the transport bar, select customise transport bar and open the sync option under modes and functions, select synchronisation settings then midi tab, then choose the destination midi port for the midi clock to go to)

Once I turned off the midi time code data the MCV24 started to work with the STG Time Buffer via din sync.

mikecameron is right on settings too, I needed to adjust my frame rate to 24 (on the general tab under synchronisation settings, in the sync section)

Thank you! :-)

User avatar
suitandtieguy
Hammond King
Posts: 3372
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 11:50 pm
Location: Chillicothe IL USA

Post by suitandtieguy » Tue Nov 13, 2012 6:13 am

hey i'm really glad to hear this stuff has made its way to Russia!
http://suitandtieguy.com
http://stgsoundlabs.com
http://knobcon.com
suboptimal wrote:... if it's music you want to make with your modular, STG should be in your system.

User avatar
seamonkeyman
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 326
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 7:38 am
Location: All over the shop

Post by seamonkeyman » Tue Nov 13, 2012 11:29 am

suitandtieguy wrote:hey i'm really glad to hear this stuff has made its way to Russia!
Thanks for making it! :-)

Post Reply

Return to “STG Soundlabs”