MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

foh power problems
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Flight of Harmony  
Author foh power problems
limpmeat
I'm having problems with my FOH power.

I bought it barebones, and got a local wallwart PSU.

The type I bought is this one from jaycar:

I have tried 2 different PSUs and with both I have a problem with my oscillators. The sinewave buzzes like a saw wave. It does this on my z3000/rs95/afg. They all work fine in my other case.

Do I have a faulty unit? It seems there is a lot of noise in the power, that is causing my oscs to reset.
limpmeat
damn, can't cut and paste a url for some reason.

anyway, it's a 2amp 12vac unregulated plugpack PSU.
HeWhoWantsJeans
Dear limpmeat,

Sorry to hear you're having issues with teh POWER. Unfortunately, I have no experience with their myself, so I'm of little assistance. I'll see about making 'flight aware of this discussion.

In the meantime, have you tried using a different power adapter with the POWER or done a voltage test yourself on the supply? I'd be curious as to what it's actually putting out - given unregulated supplies vary crazy across-the-board in my experience.
limpmeat
I haven't tested the wallwart, but I have pretty close to perfect +/-12v on my busboard.

This is the PSU:

http://www.jaycar.com.au/productView.asp?ID=MP3057

Reading the manual, there are jumpers to increase the output capacitance, I might try playing with those.
flight
Unfortunately, this is a problem that I've heard of a couple times before but have not been able to isolate the cause. There are some modules that cause oscillation on the POWER supply rails. I really wish I had a better answer.
limpmeat