Video

Any music gear discussions that don't fit into one of the other forums.

Moderators: luketeaford, lisa, Kent, Joe.

Post Reply
chrisso
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3341
Joined: Sat May 30, 2009 11:59 pm

Video

Post by chrisso » Thu Aug 20, 2009 5:21 pm

Those of you who post modular demos on YouTube and the like......
What video camera do you use, and more importantly, if you record the sounds to a DAW or HD system, how do you sync the pictures to the sound (as it's obviously not recorded to the camera's audio)?
Thanks for any advice.

Babaluma

Post by Babaluma » Thu Aug 20, 2009 6:13 pm

i use a panasonic SD-100 which is HD and has dolby 5.1 channel surround mics. youtube audio and video qaulity is pretty poor after the conversion, so i don't see anything wrong with using the cameras built in mic.

chrisso
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3341
Joined: Sat May 30, 2009 11:59 pm

Post by chrisso » Thu Aug 20, 2009 7:14 pm

Possibly, except many synth demos are spoilt by room acoustics and similar.
The best video demos, where you can really hear the synth, seem to be direct recorded from the synth itself, rather than with mics.

Last edited by chrisso on Thu Aug 20, 2009 7:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
bf
Buck Futter
Posts: 971
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 8:48 pm

Post by bf » Thu Aug 20, 2009 7:20 pm

Image

Babaluma

Post by Babaluma » Thu Aug 20, 2009 10:12 pm

well i guess if your camera has a line in you can just feed it from your mixer while you are shooting?

User avatar
Kent
Large Member
Posts: 11985
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2008 10:17 am
Location: Vienna, Austria

Post by Kent » Fri Aug 21, 2009 1:56 am

I am using a Kodak Zi6. It's major downside is that it does not have a line in. Thus, I record into my DAW at the same time and then line up the camera's mic-audio with the DAW audio by hand in iMovie.

I agree that the room acoustics in a lot of YouTube video are less than ideal which is why I go through the considerable hassle that I do.

HexEnduction
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 600
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 3:51 am

Post by HexEnduction » Fri Aug 21, 2009 2:21 am

Kent wrote:I am using a Kodak Zi6. It's major downside is that it does not have a line in. Thus, I record into my DAW at the same time and then line up the camera's mic-audio with the DAW audio by hand in iMovie.

I agree that the room acoustics in a lot of YouTube video are less than ideal which is why I go through the considerable hassle that I do.
Kodak just updated the Zi line of cameras, actually. The new Kodak Zi8 has a line in now and it shoots 1080p.

I've been using the Zi6 as well and I'm guilty of being one of the aforementioned lazybones that uses the mic in so the sound is usually less than desirable. Today I shot a video and used Logic for recording the audio and combined the two together in a similar way to what Kent described above. It was a pain in the ass and the compression on YouTube is nothing to write home about after all the hassle. :doh:

I think the best solution will be to give the Zi6 to my brother and just grab one of these new Zi8 cameras. Laziness prevails!

chrisso
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3341
Joined: Sat May 30, 2009 11:59 pm

Post by chrisso » Fri Aug 21, 2009 7:07 am

Babaluma wrote:well i guess if your camera has a line in you can just feed it from your mixer while you are shooting?
Ahh, of course.
Good idea.

Post Reply

Return to “General Gear”