MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index

FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Korg MS-20 with Paia 9700 for a complete beginner
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Fractional Rack Modules  
Author Korg MS-20 with Paia 9700 for a complete beginner

pirates_life

Hi guys,

I am new to the world of modular synthesis. I'm a bit overwhelmed by all the different types of modules out there. I feel as confused as a beginning guitar player looking at a cabinet full of effects pedals.

After a bit of research, I decided to pull the trigger and pre-order a Korg MS-20. It seemed like it might be a good way to get my feet wet with modular synthesis. I really want to get a Paia 9700. I read that the Korg MS-20 is Hz/V scaling and the Paia is V/oct. I read somewhere about the Harvestman English Tear might be able to interface the two.

Does it make sense to try to interface the two, or should I just enjoy each system for what it is?

Ted2

I think that gear can generally be mixed and matched, the only things you might run into would be voltage differences.

Just bear in mind that PAiA offers kits only for their 9700s, so you'll have to be handy with a soldering iron!

Ted2