Korg Monotribe in CV/gate mode [Video demo added!]

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: Joe., luketeaford, lisa, Kent

steevyhead
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 4:05 pm
Location: Boston

?

Post by steevyhead » Wed Mar 13, 2013 4:23 pm

hey guys, im new to this forum, and new to the world of CV etc. Anyways, i just picked up a monotribe, and updated it to 2.11 and i cant seem to get it to play nice with my minibrute. I got a 3.5mm 4 pole cable male, each end is 4 pole, and im plugging it out from gate out on the minibrute to the sync in on monotribe. Turning monotribe on and holding SD and gate time, then choosing step 1 on , holding c4 then play then c5 then play, and finally record. the minibrute will trigger the monotribe but it will only play one note. the same note c4 over and over again.

when i plug it into pitch out it doesnt trigger the monotribe consistantly its glitchy and still doesnt control the monotribes notes correctly. Am i using the wrong cable? should it be 2 4 pole ends on one side and one on the other? does the minibrute not work with monotribe? any help would be greatly appreciated.

ps.

hi guys my name is steve.

User avatar
radiokoala
must. build. jacuzzi
Posts: 2251
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 9:17 am

Post by radiokoala » Wed Mar 13, 2013 4:29 pm

Hi Steve,

your cable should only have one 4-pole jack, the one you plug into the monotribe. On the other side you should have not one 4-pole jack but two mono ones. For use with the minibrute you will plug one to gate out, and another to cv out. (Gate is duration of the note held, and CV is its note value. Of course it doesn't work now, because how you described it monotribe only will recognize one signal -- either gate, or CV.)

Hope this was helpful enough and welcome. :sb:
Witness 60 minutes of audio-visual industrial psy-techno
jam-offering (and press like so this wipes away minecraft
videos clean from the trends and we get to see
some proper rave action there, FINALLY):

Image

/ My electro-rap debut!! (video)
/ Analog & modular videos
:smoke:

steevyhead
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 4:05 pm
Location: Boston

Post by steevyhead » Wed Mar 13, 2013 4:44 pm

radiokoala wrote:Hi Steve,

your cable should only have one 4-pole jack, the one you plug into the monotribe. On the other side you should have not one 4-pole jack but two mono ones. For use with the minibrute you will plug one to gate out, and another to cv out. (Gate is duration of the note held, and CV is its note value. Of course it doesn't work now, because how you described it monotribe only will recognize one signal -- either gate, or CV.)

Hope this was helpful enough and welcome. :sb:
this was SUPER helpful and thank you for the quick reply, i really appreciate it. Ive played guitar bass and drums for about 15 years, but got into synths last year and im HOOKED. i know midi fairly well now, but i dont have any really old gear, or modular gear so im kind of lost, but i understand about needing to have the gate out, and the cv pitch out, into the monotribe. Do i have to MAKE a cord like that? I bought the 4pole 3.5 mm cord on ebay because im not very good at making cords, even at work when i have to make cat - 5 cables i usually pawn the job off to someone else.

is there a place where i can get two mono to one mini jack 4pole? can one of you lovely people make one and ill gladly pay you for your time and supples?

ps thanks for the warm welcome.

User avatar
radiokoala
must. build. jacuzzi
Posts: 2251
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 9:17 am

Post by radiokoala » Wed Mar 13, 2013 4:53 pm

Yea, there are two guys who can offer you ready-made solution:

viewtopic.php?t=39099&postdays=0&postor ... &start=540

Those are breakout boxes though, not a cable. You will only additionally need two patchcords (those we use in our eurorack modular synths) and then you'll be ready to go. :tu:
Witness 60 minutes of audio-visual industrial psy-techno
jam-offering (and press like so this wipes away minecraft
videos clean from the trends and we get to see
some proper rave action there, FINALLY):

Image

/ My electro-rap debut!! (video)
/ Analog & modular videos
:smoke:

User avatar
pfaffenberg
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 425
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2013 2:25 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Post by pfaffenberg » Wed Mar 27, 2013 8:36 am

You know, I've been on the Muffs here for a few weeks pretty regularly - scouring the Euro threads for info/inspiration on what to nab to finish up my 12U (for the time being, at least)...

Anyhow. I've had a monotribe completely torn apart and just sitting in a pile of pcbs, bent toy keyboards, and "half-builds"....an area I affectionately call "ICU"..it's like these projects are just in a coma or something.lol

So I'm on dinsync's site checking up on some things, and I end up back here reading up on this update. Like others, I'd written off Korg actually caring to update this thing further.

Pretty cool stuff. Maybe I'll actually hack the drum outs, decay mod and then "update" the thing.

The monotribe may make a full recovery, yet - and then some! Fun stuff. :sb:

Cozmic023
Common Wiggler
Posts: 150
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 1:23 pm
Location: Somerset, UK

Post by Cozmic023 » Thu Mar 28, 2013 9:36 am

Hiya Peeps,

Well just bought a Monotribe today, more tweaking toys!! :lol:

Also picked up a PSU too, as i'm sure batteries don't last long!

And picked up a CV box from darenager too.

Let the tweaking commence!! :sb:

Cheers
Lee
Jams & Stuff: soundcloud.com/dj-bedlamite

Wanted:

User avatar
Suineder
Common Wiggler
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 12:43 am
Location: Illinois, USA

Post by Suineder » Thu Apr 11, 2013 8:07 am

Cozmic023 wrote:Also picked up a PSU too, as i'm sure batteries don't last long!
Oh, you might be surprised. The batteries inside mine right now have lasted for months and the charge is only down by a little, and I've seen a couple other people here with a similar experience. Monotribe is actually fairly efficient with batteries.

Cozmic023
Common Wiggler
Posts: 150
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 1:23 pm
Location: Somerset, UK

Post by Cozmic023 » Thu Apr 11, 2013 1:01 pm

Cheers Suineder for the info, that helps a lot! :party:

I have been light on usage with the Monotribe, as most things i use that are battery powered usually end sooner rather than later!! :eek:

I've now got the PSU, and the CV box / Midi box from Darenager now.

Still haven't had any playtime to get MT & modular, to get both talking to each other.

Cheers
Lee
Jams & Stuff: soundcloud.com/dj-bedlamite

Wanted:

User avatar
ezehagar
Scones n' soup
Posts: 290
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2012 9:42 am
Location: Ottawa, Canada

Post by ezehagar » Fri Jun 07, 2013 7:56 am

hamildad wrote:when using the Monotribe MIDI mod, there is significant clicking as the internal envelope gate cannot sync with the incoming midi note on/off, this means its fine when filter resonance is high, but dial it down and the clicking is noticable and unwanted.
I'm having the same clicky pop sounds. Is this just a limitation?
I've made the firmware updates and soldered the cable assembly and it all works. Except the pop when the gate opens and closes. Is there a way to get rid of the pop?
Cheers
Z

Matze
1-Post Wiggler
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 1:29 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany

Connecting Monotribe w. QuNexus via KMI CV Cable Kit:Help!

Post by Matze » Wed Nov 12, 2014 1:40 pm

Hello All,

this is my first post and I admit to being what is often referred to as a noob in certain circles. (Not a total noob, just a noob.)

For the last few days I've been trying to use the V 2.11 Monotribe CV functionality with a QuNexus controller using the KMI CV Cable Kit – to no avail. I've viewed a number of videos and can't really figure out why it's not working.

Seeing as you guys here are all knowledgable to a degree that puts me to shame I wonder if you might help me out and point me in the direction of a thread or a resource that has a truly idiotproof step by step tutorial.

What cable goes where etc. what buttons to press on the Monotribe in Gate CV Mode...


Thanks very much and a fine week to you all,

Matt

User avatar
hamildad
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1163
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 10:46 am
Location: London

Post by hamildad » Wed Nov 12, 2014 3:47 pm

Are you sure the cable is right? Are you using the proper qunexus cable? I use a Nokia AV one.

Have you downloaded the right firmware and set it up to take in CV/Gate instead of Sync? it defaults to taking sync in that jack unless you change the settings.

have you calibrated it? you need to play an octave, and then store that.

even if I plug in the gate to the CV, I get some noise, so are you getting anything when you plug it in??

and have you got any eurorack to test that out on? or have you just got a monotribe?
Attachments
monotribe_OS v21_E1.pdf
guid to using the 'new' monotribe OS
(460.86 KiB) Downloaded 10 times

brucethehoon
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 9:54 pm

Post by brucethehoon » Fri Mar 11, 2016 1:40 pm

This is fantastic! I've only just started modding my monotribe, and it's been far easier than I expected thanks to folks like you. :)

zaphod betamax
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 395
Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 3:24 pm
Location: sarnia

Post by zaphod betamax » Wed Nov 02, 2016 2:47 pm

Correct, if you declare that C=ab, and then transpose the MT up an octave or so, you get a third. If you declare that C=F, then transpose up an octave or so, you get the fifth.
Coolness

rockwoofstone wrote:Hehe!

The quantising idea got me thinking that as the facility is there to calibrate the MT, you could force some further transposition which isn't full-octave focussed by calibrating at something other than C4-C5.

In other words, you can set the 1V/OCT scale to be whatever you like by just substituting C4-C5 calibration to be whatever you'd like 1V to represent, based at whatever note you desire.

ghostly606
Common Wiggler
Posts: 115
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2016 7:43 am
Location: Dundee

Post by ghostly606 » Tue Jan 17, 2017 6:01 am

Looking for an adaptor between eurorack and the monotribe, would one of these work?:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/3-5mm-Audio-H ... Sw5cNYNvDd

zaphod betamax
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 395
Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 3:24 pm
Location: sarnia

Post by zaphod betamax » Wed Jul 25, 2018 3:17 pm

Also, Monotribes can be programmed to play Micro (or Macro) Tonal.

Toned
1-Post Wiggler
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2019 5:12 am
Location: Greece

Re: Korg Monotribe in CV/gate mode [Video demo added!]

Post by Toned » Thu Sep 10, 2020 3:56 pm

Hello ! I am kind of desperate !
I am trying to cv control my Monotribe with my eurorack sequencer using the right cable,
a 4 pole male mini jack to x2 mono female jacks which then i am plugging to my eurorack sequencer. I am plugging the male to Monotribe IN and the other 2 mono jacks to my eurorack sequencer GATE & CV OUTS. Nothing happens, i only can trigger the Monotribe without any control to notes, it plays only the same note....
Please would be kind enough and help me ???
Best, Giorgos

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”