Silent Way VCO Calibration

Discussion and support for Expert Sleepers' Silent Way software and hardware.

Moderators: Kent, os

Post Reply
User avatar
Navs
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 4352
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2009 3:49 am
Location: Berlin, Germany

Silent Way VCO Calibration

Post by Navs » Fri Sep 18, 2009 6:21 am

Hi,

I'm trying out the demo of SW 1.3 with the headphone out of my RME Fireface400.

Calibration works perfectly from C1 - F4 (absolute revelation to hear my M15 tracking so well! :hihi: ) but then things go awry.

The calibrate graphic on the plug-in seems to confirm this (see attachment).

Am I doing something wrong or is this maybe a limitation of the FF400's outs?

I also got a similar result with my Cwejman VCO-2RM ...

Cheers,

Navs
Attachments
silent way vco calibration kink
silent way vco calibration kink
silentway_calibrate.jpg (40.96 KiB) Viewed 1455 times

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 14897
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Fri Sep 18, 2009 6:36 am

That looks fine to me - the jaggy line at the top is where you hit the max voltage and it wraps round the top octave.

If you need more range, use an input that's adjustable and not fixed 1v/octave. E.g. If you can set the VCO to 0.5v/octave then you'll double the reachable note range.

User avatar
wetterberg
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 7673
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 5:31 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark.

Post by wetterberg » Fri Sep 18, 2009 7:38 pm

os wrote: If you can set the VCO to 0.5v/octave then you'll double the reachable note range.
-but this will also affect your resolution, right?

Either way, the wrapping around the octave is a nice clever little solution. Good thinking, that.

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 14897
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Sat Sep 19, 2009 1:21 am

I have to give Graham at http://www.hinton-instruments.co.uk/ credit for suggesting that feature.

User avatar
Navs
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 4352
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2009 3:49 am
Location: Berlin, Germany

Post by Navs » Sat Sep 19, 2009 4:27 am

Thanks for the confirmation os!

I tried multing and then boosting the CV (A-133) but got the best results using a positive offset of about 2.5V via an A-138 mixer: five perfect octaves :)

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 14897
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Sat Sep 19, 2009 6:37 am

Sounds good!

What's the oscillator you're using? I'd like to add it to the chart:
http://www.expert-sleepers.co.uk/siwacompatibility.html

User avatar
Navs
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 4352
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2009 3:49 am
Location: Berlin, Germany

Post by Navs » Sun Sep 20, 2009 2:22 pm

I can add a Cwejman VCO-2RM and Cyndustries ZO to your list (C1 - C6), with the caveat that the Zero wobbles a bit in the lower registers and, once you start applying FM indexes in excess of 100%, pitch becomes a relative issue ;)

I also got a Cwejman MMF-1 filter to track perfectly from C1 - C6.
Doepfer's A-105 is a little less stable (+/- 1-2 cents) over the same span, but easily close enough for rock 'n' roll.
Malekko/ Wiard Borg didn't fare as well: +/- 15 cents, but I didn't expect it to.

Two wild cards:
Bananalogue/ Serge VCS, C1 - C5, up to 6 cents off, but hey!
Plan B Model 10 EG, C2 - C4, +/- 20-40 cents. Also surprising.
The tricky part here is figuring how much Timebase modulation to apply.

With the VCOs and filters that are calibrated for 1V/O maybe these results shouldn't be too surprising.
I guess the real issue is that there are still only two (three if you count the RME's phones out) compatible audio interfaces ...

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 14897
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Mon Sep 21, 2009 6:10 am

Thanks for all those, that's great information.

For the more 'wobbly' modules, I could probably add a more accurate (but much slower) calibration process that fine tuned each note in turn. Do you think that's worth doing? Would users be willing to sit through such a process?

Btw you more than qualify for the bounty, if you can get something on YouTube:
http://www.expert-sleepers.co.uk/index_ ... bounty.php

User avatar
Navs
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 4352
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2009 3:49 am
Location: Berlin, Germany

Post by Navs » Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:04 am

If it's an easy to implement option, then yes. I'd be happy to test it for you.

The current calibration routine seems to work fine for VCOs and filters with 1V/O inputs though.

Out of interest, how slow is 'much slower'?

Thanks for the bounty tip-off!

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 14897
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:13 am

OK, I'll add it to the "to-do" list.

You can hear the current calibration routine stepping between pitches, and how long it spends on each one. Imagine that stepping over all 128 possible MIDI notes.

User avatar
1nput0utput
Common Wiggler
Posts: 213
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2009 10:00 pm
Location: USA

Post by 1nput0utput » Mon Sep 21, 2009 11:46 am

Navs wrote:I guess the real issue is that there are still only two (three if you count the RME's phones out) compatible audio interfaces ...
Almost all MOTU interfaces are compatible. That's way more than two.

User avatar
Navs
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 4352
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2009 3:49 am
Location: Berlin, Germany

Post by Navs » Tue Sep 22, 2009 12:56 pm

You're absolutely right.

I should have written 'two or three brands' i.e. MOTU, Alesis (& RME).

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 14897
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Tue Sep 22, 2009 1:13 pm


User avatar
Navs
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 4352
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2009 3:49 am
Location: Berlin, Germany

Post by Navs » Wed Sep 23, 2009 2:27 pm

os wrote:And Terratec, apparently
10V - Interesting!

Are you finding the Ultralite's 4-5V max output a limitation?

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 14897
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Wed Sep 23, 2009 2:37 pm

No, but bear in mind this is the only way I've ever controlled a modular - I don't have any history with MIDI/CV etc. to compare against.

Analog>Plugins
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 283
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 10:05 am
Location: Uk

Post by Analog>Plugins » Sat Sep 26, 2009 3:31 am

I would certainly be happy with a high quality calibration mode for sure.

Don't worry about the time it takes....3 mins would be fine for me.

Loving the updates OS.

User avatar
antenne
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 11:45 am
Location: Copenhagen

Post by antenne » Sat Sep 26, 2009 12:30 pm

you can add a Serge DSG (dual slope generator)
to the list - just calibrated one for tracking over 6 octaves

i also am loving the updates - thanks os

kim

User avatar
antenne
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 11:45 am
Location: Copenhagen

Post by antenne » Sat Sep 26, 2009 12:45 pm

you can also add a Serge VCFQ ( variable q filter ) patched to
self-oscillate

and ofcourse
the "regular" Serge oscillator modules:

PCO ( precision oscillator )
NTO ( new timbral oscillator )
FREQ ( frequency shifter )

kim

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 14897
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Sun Sep 27, 2009 12:54 pm

Thanks for the info!

User avatar
mono-poly
Le Cheff
Posts: 5423
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2008 3:40 pm
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands

Post by mono-poly » Tue Dec 27, 2016 3:34 pm

Can i callibrate in the range of -10v to 10v?
The farad is the captain of my print.

http://www.mono-poly.nl
http://www.noodlebar.org

WTB blue lantern purple vco

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 14897
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Wed Dec 28, 2016 3:23 am

If your audio interface generates that voltage range, yes.

espacevue
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2013 11:34 am

Post by espacevue » Thu Aug 17, 2017 3:07 am

Hi,

I'm trying out Silent Way for the first time with my MOTU 828x. It is working,
only it seems like the 828x's output voltage is super low, as I'm only getting around 1.5 octaves of pitch from the Silent Way voici controller, cf screenshot of the calibration diagram:

Image

Same thing trying to modulate filter freq with envelopes on a different output of the 828x.

Has anyone experienced this before? Is there a way I can get more voltage out of the 828x? I know that an ES-3 would solve this problem, but it seems like I should be getting more out of the 828x.

Cheers!

espacevue
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2013 11:34 am

Post by espacevue » Thu Aug 17, 2017 3:18 am

I found a solution which I thought I'd share for others having the same problem: I used the MOTU software mixer (CueMix FX) DSP compressor to increase the output gain using the "makeup gain" param:

Image

Now I have about 5 octaves of tracking which is cool:

Image

I don't know if this is the cleanest way to achieve this but it seems to work.

Anyone know of a less hacky way to get max output voltage from an 828x?

Cheers

Post Reply

Return to “Expert Sleepers”