MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

WMD Digital VCA !!
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Eurorack Modules Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next [all]
Author WMD Digital VCA !!
WMDevices
I would like to introduce the WMD Digital VCA. This is a module that I've been working on with Suit & Tie Guy for a few months. STG will be introducing a 5U version of this module that fits 3 VCAs in the next few weeks.

And so..... The WMD/STG Digital VCA incorporates a very short input to output signal path and ultra low noise opamps. The design uses a microcontroller to interpret the control voltage signals and drive the VCA circuit. Yadda yadda, thats all good and normal, but here is the fun part.

The Digital VCA incorporates a Zero Crossing detector which only allows for control voltage changes to happen while the input signal is crossing the ground potential. This allows for the Digital VCA to open instantaneously without annoying pops and clicks on signals up to 15kHz. Good luck hearing a pop at 15kHz.

The design also incorporates Gate mode which only allows for control voltage changes to occur on the rising edge of a gate signal. This lets you use other signals to control the updates of the CV on the Digital VCA predictably. Think of this mode as a sample & hold VCA.

The overall specs are 6 HP, +75 / -45 mA current draw. Ultra low noise opamps and complete closing of the VCA with 0 volts CV. The circuitry can respond to 5V or 8V CV signals and has a linear response. VCA resolution is limited to 8 bits producing a little bit of low-fidelity tone on the control side. Analog signal range is +-10V.