Anyone else using a Zoom r16?

Discuss everything related to production, recording, composition, etc.

Moderators: Kent, Joe., analogdigital, infradead, lisa, parasitk, plord

User avatar
Rayek
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 373
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 4:59 pm
Location: Detroit

Anyone else using a Zoom r16?

Post by Rayek » Fri May 24, 2013 3:08 pm

To me, this thing has been indespensable. I don't want to stare at a computer for longer than I have to, and this helps with that. It has 8 inputs so most of my gear can record on separate channels, and I can take it anywhere. Seriously, one of the best music-related purchases I have ever made.

Anyone else using this? I'm curious to see if anyone has used it as an audio interface or for MIDI.

User avatar
poppinger
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1006
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2009 5:40 am
Location: mpls

Post by poppinger » Wed May 29, 2013 3:35 am

Does it have midi? I was looking at them awhile back but got hung up on the notion that it wouldn't sync to midi clock. I had grand fantasies of syncing it with the Octatrack.

I go back and forth about grabbing one even without midi clock. I would think you could use the metronome to clock the modular without too much dicking around. The in-built tuner would be icing on the cake for modular use.

And now I've nearly convinced myself again.

User avatar
Blinkar blå
Common Wiggler
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2009 5:00 pm
Location: Sweden

Post by Blinkar blå » Wed May 29, 2013 9:07 am

No MIDI.

I've used it as audio interface for a while, but I don't have any experience using it as a controller for a DAW.

A couple of general observations:
- it distorts with common modular levels, you need pads/attenuators
- most operations involves menu-diving (eg. pan, change metronome tempo and so on)

I haven't tried using the metronome to clock the modular, but I'm guessing it's doable since you can assign the metronome to headphone output only.
“I ought to be chief,” said Jack with simple arrogance, “because I’m chapter chorister and head boy. I can sing C sharp.”

User avatar
Blinkar blå
Common Wiggler
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2009 5:00 pm
Location: Sweden

Post by Blinkar blå » Thu May 30, 2013 8:29 am

thought I'd mention this re: syncing, it's from page 34 in the manual:

"Be aware that the metronome starts sounding
from the instant that recording/playback begins.
Therefore, if you begin in the middle of a song, the
metronome sound and the pulse of the music might
be out of sync."
“I ought to be chief,” said Jack with simple arrogance, “because I’m chapter chorister and head boy. I can sing C sharp.”

User avatar
Rayek
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 373
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 4:59 pm
Location: Detroit

Post by Rayek » Thu Jun 13, 2013 3:57 pm

Sorry, lost track of this. :oops:

I've been using a stereo out module with a dedicated attenuator, so don't notice the clipping, although I did like the idea of, once I got a few more modules, being able to have 8 channels to record into. Hmmm.

I also don't plan on using much of the extra features on it, mainly just for recording. Although it's kind of a pain that you can't really use it as a little mixer for performances since there's no knob for panning on it :(

Regarding MIDI, I assumed that because you can use it as a control surface that they'd be using some form of USB MIDI for DAW integration, but I guess not...

Either way, I love this thing, and it is totally worth the cash I spent on it, and I highly recommend it to people who don't want to stare at a computer for longer than they have to.

User avatar
Funky40
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 5556
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2008 7:08 pm
Location: on a big voyage

Post by Funky40 » Thu Jun 13, 2013 8:59 pm

no sync was the dealbreaker for me too.
otherwise it would have been a ideal unit for me.

i don't know, midi might be stoneage, but nearly every task i do when making music involves some sort of midi sync,
.....still the way things work. ....not only for me
For sale / reduced prices ( swiss (we are NON-EU)/ in case it makes sense_ EU/WW)(CHF +- = $):
WMD Geiger Counter: 180.- / Dotcom Q960: 700.- / Q119: 430 /
ATV A-Frame incl. Accu and Bag: 850.-, like new, quasi unused.

floris
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 344
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 4:09 pm
Location: belgium

Post by floris » Mon Jan 13, 2014 10:18 am

Would love to open my Zoom R8 to get individual outs.
anyone tried or read about this?

User avatar
strettara
mufferthucker
Posts: 5533
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 12:16 am
Location: Das Land der eisernen Wurst

Post by strettara » Mon Jan 13, 2014 10:25 am

I have the R8, but only use it as an audio interface, to be honest. I don't really understand anymore why I got it, but it works OK for that if you don't need more than 2 ins, which I don't.
strictly a suit and tie wearing motherfucker

User avatar
suboptimal
A Towering Mediocrity
Posts: 4713
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 11:04 pm
Location: San Diego

Post by suboptimal » Thu Feb 19, 2015 7:33 pm

I'm considering a R16 to liberate myself from the computer at the recording stage. If I'm reading the manual correctly, it's possible to set up a Project with your track settings, and the previous project template gets loaded when you create a new project, so I could configure the 8 inputs once and be done with it. Is that correct? I want to set up according to my studio configuration and be done with it, a few button pushes max to get things going, otherwise I'm better off sticking with the computer.

I still plan to work with recorded tracks on the computer for messing with effects and mastering, but I do so little of that it's a secondary concern to capturing jams in a useful, integrated way.

User avatar
Igor Berlin
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 374
Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2013 4:47 pm
Location: Berlin

Post by Igor Berlin » Thu Feb 19, 2015 8:28 pm

I have been using the Behringer UFX1204 lately. If being able to be powered by batteries is not important, I would suggest to check that out. It's a good mixer with lots of functions, sounds ok and it can record all it's channels directly on a usb stick without the need of a computer. It will record 12 seperate channels, the 2 aux and the Master channels as wavs to the usb medium. When connected to a computer it works as a firewire or usb audio interface with 12 ins and 4 outs. It even gives you transport controls for your daw.
This thing has drastically changed my workflow. It's so great to have that record button on a mixer :-)
I never liked Behringer and this is my first product from them... but it is a great mixer, especially for that price.
Except for the battery thing, it beats the zoom in every aspect :-)
some audio, please.... or it never happened!

User avatar
suboptimal
A Towering Mediocrity
Posts: 4713
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 11:04 pm
Location: San Diego

Post by suboptimal » Fri Feb 20, 2015 2:03 am

I have to admit I'm pretty sharply biased against Behringer. In this case, the form factor of the unit won't work for me, so I can avoid having to look at it with both eyes open. ;)

The Zoom's size is a huge part of what makes it appealing to me. I know that by itself this isn't a reason to get it, though. I've thrown away too much money on this sort of thing in the past to jump in quickly.

70's Synth dude
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2015 10:16 am

Post by 70's Synth dude » Sat Feb 21, 2015 11:20 am

I looked at one a couple months back As an interface for the price I thought it was great. But when I went head to head with the H6, the quality was just not there in the record function. The H6 had better sounding pre's so I went with that for my needs > live 2-5 mike recording.

I do like the fact that two 16's can be linked to get 32 channels. Thats pretty sweet for a low end controller. and they are battery powered!

User avatar
cretaceousear
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2032
Joined: Thu May 24, 2012 10:01 am
Location: Suburbia, London

Post by cretaceousear » Sun Feb 22, 2015 8:12 am

Yes - when you start a new project it retains the settings from the old one, re track routing.
Though I haven't ever tested this as I just swap jack plugs around - less hassle. For basic syncing you can always record a click.
I have an R24 as I wanted 8 simultaneous recording tracks for band meets.

Works really well - it's certainly quick to get it into "record".
..the world is tiny compared to the universe... so tremendous, tremendous amount of fumes and everything

User avatar
suboptimal
A Towering Mediocrity
Posts: 4713
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 11:04 pm
Location: San Diego

Post by suboptimal » Sun Feb 22, 2015 1:00 pm

Cool, thanks for the input.

On the quality of the pres, I'm not sure I'm picky enough for it to matter. I'm recording to have some sketches of what I've done, not for building tracks. I think I'd stick to my Pro40 setup if I were trying to do anything more sophisticated on the recording side.

User avatar
thevegasnerve
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1043
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 8:02 pm
Location: Colorado, USA
Contact:

Post by thevegasnerve » Mon Apr 17, 2017 8:50 am

been using the Zoom R8 quite a bit lately. Feels great to remove the computer from my room and it has helped me. Since I prefer a live setup feel to my studio, I just setup the two outs from my Mackie 820i to channels 1-2 on the Zoom and stereolink everything. Works perfectly.. I did notice that I have to be careful not to overload the Zoom channels when playing the Mother32s or other analog equipment. There does seem to be a sweet spot for getting strong enough signals without clipping.

Now the challenge will be to start mastering these recordings, anyone use the Zoom for final mixdown or move to computer? I am thinking I need to go to ProTools at that point (have PT9)..

User avatar
i.murray.fraser
Common Wiggler
Posts: 105
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2016 5:42 pm
Location: Winnipeg

Post by i.murray.fraser » Tue Apr 25, 2017 9:56 am

I've been using the Zoom R8 for a while now. I like to avoid the computer most of the time. I've only mastered one or two tracks directly on the unit, but it's nice and tactile.

I haven't really found a quick and easy way to get the sync working through the headphone click track. It does eventually work, but I always need to record a click, set the metronome to play whatever track it's on, make sure it's a single click, patch it into the modular, adjust the track volume and headphone volume to sweet spot, etc. Even then, it's sometimes still finicky. Maybe I'm expecting too much, I just wish I could use one of the stock metronome samples, just plug and play, but that has never really worked for me.

Sometimes I don't need sync and then the unit is a joy. You can layer your tracks, loop sections, mute tracks, bounce down, and more.

Lately, I've been really enjoying the EHX 45000 looper, which, although it has a different purpose than multitrack recording, seems to fit my flow better. Plus, it has midi sync.

User avatar
thevegasnerve
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1043
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 8:02 pm
Location: Colorado, USA
Contact:

Post by thevegasnerve » Tue Apr 25, 2017 9:25 pm

Yeah, since my Zoom R8 is being used as basically a modern Portastudio, i don't attempt any midi sync or midi anything! In fact, I have a 4-track cassette deck that I am using for tape loops, etc. next to it. I may try some quick mastering on the Zoom for reference, but most likely final tracks will go back to computer or will be sent out as stems to let a pro mix/master them properly. But I am starting to accumulate a decent amount of songs for the first time in quite a while, and I credit the Zoom for most of that.

User avatar
Paranormal Patroler
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 10673
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 3:40 pm
Location: the Terminal beach

Post by Paranormal Patroler » Wed May 31, 2017 1:54 pm

i.murray.fraser wrote:I've been using the Zoom R8 for a while now. I like to avoid the computer most of the time. I've only mastered one or two tracks directly on the unit, but it's nice and tactile.

I haven't really found a quick and easy way to get the sync working through the headphone click track. It does eventually work, but I always need to record a click, set the metronome to play whatever track it's on, make sure it's a single click, patch it into the modular, adjust the track volume and headphone volume to sweet spot, etc. Even then, it's sometimes still finicky. Maybe I'm expecting too much, I just wish I could use one of the stock metronome samples, just plug and play, but that has never really worked for me.

Sometimes I don't need sync and then the unit is a joy. You can layer your tracks, loop sections, mute tracks, bounce down, and more.

Lately, I've been really enjoying the EHX 45000 looper, which, although it has a different purpose than multitrack recording, seems to fit my flow better. Plus, it has midi sync.
What have you been using as a sync destination on your modular? I was kinda hoping that outputting the click from the R8 would be able to clock my Pamela. Worst case I am considering one of these:

http://ladik.ladik.eu/?page_id=1943

Should be able to convert the click track to an actual trigger.
All rights reserved; all wrongs reversed.

User avatar
i.murray.fraser
Common Wiggler
Posts: 105
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2016 5:42 pm
Location: Winnipeg

Post by i.murray.fraser » Thu Aug 30, 2018 8:30 pm

Allow me to answer your question 15 months later. :party:

I've tried a number of destinations with the different stock metronomes on the R8. None have worked well for me. So when I did try to sync, it would be with a long click track recorded onto track 8 from wherever I intended to send it later (just for certainty). That works pretty consistently, although you still need to be careful when adjusting the click level. I imagine the Ladik would work, especially with the sens pots on the pcb.

I recently found an R16 at a pawn shop for a really good price. I like having 8 simultaneous inputs. One thing I did to get it in sync for multitracking is to record the click track (same procedure as above) but, because you can't get a separate output, I just pan it hard right and all other tracks panned left. Then take the right output for the sync track. You lose stereo during tracking, but I don't usually worry about stereo too much until later (if at all) anyway.

User avatar
Paranormal Patroler
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 10673
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 3:40 pm
Location: the Terminal beach

Post by Paranormal Patroler » Thu Aug 30, 2018 9:58 pm

Funny you should answer now, I bought the Ladik yesterday.
All rights reserved; all wrongs reversed.

User avatar
i.murray.fraser
Common Wiggler
Posts: 105
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2016 5:42 pm
Location: Winnipeg

Post by i.murray.fraser » Sat Sep 01, 2018 9:06 am

Nice. Let us know how it works. If you can use the metronome as a master clock, the R8 has all kinds of new possibilities.

User avatar
cretaceousear
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2032
Joined: Thu May 24, 2012 10:01 am
Location: Suburbia, London

Post by cretaceousear » Mon Sep 03, 2018 11:43 am

Hey.. there's a technique someone figured out where you can output the metronome click to the headphones only, so you get clean line outs. I must have it bookmarked somewhere but might be worth Googling if it sounds useful. I think it's an option from the LED screen... :hmm:

louis_srsmt
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2018 11:35 am
Location: Paris

Post by louis_srsmt » Sun Nov 04, 2018 1:34 pm

You can have Metronome only in the headphone ! Their is a swith clearly labeled on the front panel of the zoom R16 and R8, near a pot ;

you can't sync it but you can go into parameters and tell him wich BPM you want ; it's useful to sync internal delays

You can use it standalone or as a soundcard recording straight into separate tracks into your daw ;

I love mine, cheap alternative for multitracking , and battery powered :p

User avatar
cretaceousear
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2032
Joined: Thu May 24, 2012 10:01 am
Location: Suburbia, London

Post by cretaceousear » Sun Nov 04, 2018 2:49 pm

Our band has just bought a Zoom L12 - so we can have four separate headphone outs for recording late at night - we're a living room band.. and of course we get 12 tracks.
Definitely more solid than the R24/R16 - metal case and feels better all round. Seems to sound a tad cleaner but that might be placebo-ism.

Those of you who have the R24/R16 will know how the sockets grab hold of jack plugs like a dog refusing to release a bone - on the L12 they unplug normally.
One other point on the grab and hold plugs - some people think this stresses and fractures the solder tracks and leads to intermittent crackle - it's certainly something we've experienced - reported fix is to run a soldering iron over the tracks .. which I need to do so I can sell the R24 - still a brilliant machine.
..the world is tiny compared to the universe... so tremendous, tremendous amount of fumes and everything

Kravvall
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2018 4:34 pm
Location: Vienna

Post by Kravvall » Sun Nov 25, 2018 3:20 pm

I just got the r24, and am looking forward to using it, since it perfectly fills a gap for me. I do work in a daw mostly, and have a focusrite 18i8 as interface. Modular is (for now) supposed to be a "live" thing to work something out in a more musical way. But I still wanna get as much tracks as possible into the daw for post production or even full production at home, so if I have a melody line, drum, both, whatever, I can get it into the daw and work from there. The one thing that was missing with the old interface was the volume control and the r24 solves this perfectly. And once I figured out the modular in more depth, I wanna use it live, so this already has everything for my future use case also, as I can use it live and also record, all without laptop.

Post Reply

Return to “Production Techniques”