MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

A little taste of some Kansas home cookin' (VCF)
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Music Tech DIY Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next [all]
Author A little taste of some Kansas home cookin' (VCF)
negativspace
In my scant free time over the last month I've been working on this... it's finally in a state where I feel like sharing. It started life as the SVF design (based on the J. Haible discrete 2040 gain cell) which Scott Stites posted over at electro-music in April. I'd been wanting to work with another filter for a while and this one looked interesting, so I started playing with it. I lopped off the audio input section and grafted on the CP3 mixer (moar transistors!) and that's what you're hearing in this rather short clip. It's definitely interesting! A very thick, rich-sounding filter with a lot of different personalities depending on how hard you drive the inputs.

[s]http://soundcloud.com/negativspace/discrete-svf-test-01[/s]

I've gotten Scott's blessing on a PCB run, if you guys are into this I'll make it happen. I'll offer it with a euro panel as usual but I'm going to keep power connectors and mounting holes onboard for other-format builds.
GrantB
That sounds great! applause
appliancide
negativspace wrote:
I've gotten Scott's blessing on a PCB run, if you guys are into this I'll make it happen.

applause

I'm way into this! Even before I heard the awesome sample, I wanted it for the synth-nerdiness factor of a discrete SVF.
Isaiah
Very interesting!
It seems to track 1V/Oct pretty well in your demo. Is there the option to adjust the scaling or add temperature compensation?
Is the VC over Resonance? I remember you saying before that you are fond of VC Resonance. Maybe the design doesn't permit adding that feature.