reel to reel?

Any music gear discussions that don't fit into one of the other forums.

Moderators: Joe., luketeaford, lisa, Kent

consumed
International Filter Conspiracy

reel to reel?

Post by consumed » Wed Apr 30, 2008 1:25 pm

im just getting started looking around at reel to reel machines.

im not looking to multitrack (necessarily), but am definitely interested in a r2r machine that has variable pitch control from the front panel, which i suppose would exclude any belt-driven machines. sound on sound would be cool too. has anyone been down this road? i just need some makes/models to get started researching about. thanks!

felix
Loves the manuals!

Post by felix » Wed Apr 30, 2008 1:56 pm

Tascam 34/38. Do it.

Also, if you want to be totally bad ass, get a 388. It's an 8 track 1/4" reel built into an 8 channel tascam mixer.

I wish I have never sold mine.
dress yourself for the public. you now must exit your home and acquire a dental mirror and lubrication!
i recommend a hat, or a helmet. if a helmet, ensure that it is both convincing and unbiased. -citizen mori
https://www.modulargrid.net/e/racks/view/78959
https://www.modulargrid.net/e/racks/view/225002
https://jimdrones.bandcamp.com

Kent
Large Member

Revox C-series

Post by Kent » Wed Apr 30, 2008 2:45 pm

I own a Revox C278 which is an 8-track 1/2" machine. It is built entirely of Studer parts and kicks posterior. Be on the look out for the C270, C274 or C278. Unfortunately for you, they are also some of the most expensive units on the used market due to their build quality and Willi Studer heritage.

Also, are you looking for 'dirt' or 'clean w/squishiness' ?

consumed

Post by consumed » Wed Apr 30, 2008 3:44 pm

im probably looking for dirt.

Chuck E. Jesus
holier than thou

Post by Chuck E. Jesus » Wed Apr 30, 2008 3:46 pm