MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Volta, Sh-101 and initial setup concerning cables
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Volta  
Author Volta, Sh-101 and initial setup concerning cables
bwandice
So ive recently gotten my hands upon a roland sh-101 vintage synth and im looking to use it through Volta. On the synth are CV/Gate 1/8 inch inputs and outputs, along with the 1/4 inch output.

Im also using MOTU's ultralite mk3, and apparently i need a TS to TRS cable (floating). Now im not too sure what exactly TRS or TS mean (other than what they stand for), so my question is, what kind of cable do i need, where am i plugging what into what will the TRS be plugging into the synth's output, or will the TS end be plugging into the CV/Gate in or out?

im pretty new with this so i hope this question does not make me sound incapable.

Also most TS to TRS cables are 1/4 inch, and my synth has 1/8 inch CV/Gate inputs/outputs, and it seems pretty hard to find an insert cable with 1/8 inch on the TRS side, would a simple 1/4 to 1/8 converter do the trick?
doctorvague
This is TRS:

TS is a standard guitar cable end.

Since it sounds from your post you're not leaning toward DIY, I'd recommend you buying a 'stereo' or 'balanced' cable - one with TRS at both ends. Just make sure it has connectors you can unscrew and don't buy a plastic-molded-end one. Then on either end of that cable clip the ring wire. You have to kind of look at it but it's pretty easy to tell. Usually the most center one will be the tip and the ground ('sleeve') is the longest one. You might want to clip away 1/8" or so, and/or use a little tape so there's no chance of anything shorting out later.
Then just use one of these: