MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Binary Function Computer
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Music Tech DIY  
Author Binary Function Computer
vurma
Context, narrative

Every since I entered the modular cave system, iv wanted to contribute to the DIY scene. One of the most interesting concepts I wanted to work with was the material from the short but passionate bytebeat scene. Im not good at electronics, but my programming skills are improving steadily and i figured this was a good start.

This is another implementation of the 8-bit binary function oscillator discovered and defined in 2011. After looking around i found out that Microbe Modular were doing a similar implementation, and that some code for it is already in the Ardcore library, so its completely fair if you want to call me a copycat and disregard this post. I know I started to develop my implementation before discovering that others already existed. But after all, its all open source code, based (at least initially) on open-ended hardware platforms, so the idea of novelty is less important as long as the licensing is respected.

Project description for a test implementation
The Binary Function Computer works with bytebeat-style iterations, but toggles equation constants and conditional variation of equations by analysing modular logic signals. It will have a comparator to derive logic-out signals based on the periodic maximum and arithmetic mean of the function values.