MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Beginner to modular. Looking for advice re: DIY
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Modular Synth General Discussion Goto page 1, 2  Next [all]
Author Beginner to modular. Looking for advice re: DIY
Blingley
So, I have been working with electronic music, and I'm studying Musicology. So I have an excuse to want a modular setup, and since I have at least some disposable income, I feel like I should indulge myself.

That being said, said disposable income is still quite limited. I am, after all, an university student. We're not exactly known for swimming in money. What I seem to have in abundance currently is time. Such, I am looking at the cheaper options that require soldering/assembly. More experience with electronics projects is just bonus, and I might be able to document the build process for some extra credits. And probably looks good on portfolio/resume. I just have a few worries.

What I am particularly looking at is the PAiA-line - It does seem really affordable, and it seems the frac-format has quite enough options. The list of questions regarding that:

A: Has anyone here tried their hand on that. How hard was the assembly? I have time, and it wouldn't be my first electronics project, but I'm not particularly experienced, either. I found Unease Article about building it, but would like a second opinion if possible.
B: Sound quality. A lot of the price range is no doubt about the DIY-kit-aspect. I'm sure a part of it is also sound quality, especially compared to the more expensive 5U-format. Are there good audio demos out there?