.Com QMPSA

Moog, Synthesizers.com, MOTM, Modcan, Moon and others..... Go big!

Moderators: Joe., luketeaford, lisa, Kent

Post Reply
User avatar
haricots
Droppin' Loads
Posts: 1503
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 2:32 pm
Location: Chelsea & Cowansville, QC, Canada

.Com QMPSA

Post by haricots » Wed Nov 11, 2009 12:47 pm

So how does this adapter supply the additional +5v needed for some .com modules?
I'm fantasizing about adding a row of .com and was wondering if this adapter or the harness or dedicated power supply (QPS2) is the way to go. Any suggestions?

User avatar
SynthBaron
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3386
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 2:43 am

Post by SynthBaron » Wed Nov 11, 2009 1:19 pm

It's just a +5v regulator. Which sort of defeats the whole "put it on a seperate power supply so that there's no digital interference on the +-15v rails" concept.

I'd go with the separate power supply.

However, check the module specs. You don't even need the +5v rail on most.

User avatar
bwhittington
Terrifying Brain Secret
Posts: 5842
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 11:48 pm

Post by bwhittington » Wed Nov 11, 2009 1:20 pm

The voltage from your MOTM or Modcan psu is regulated for a +5v output. I believe the QMPSA is intended to power a single module, so depending on how many Dotcom modules you are talking about (is a row 8, 16, 22?), it might be more cost-effective to go with the QPS2 or for a lot of modules to replace your current psu with a +15/-15/+5v one to send the voltages you need to each brand of module. I recently got my first Modcan/MOTM stuff, and powering it from the Dotcom psu was simple. Going the other way is slightly more complicated.

What Dotcom modules are you interested in? Not all require +5v.

Cheers,
Brian

zerosum
Modulation Maniac
Posts: 3750
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 9:49 pm

Post by zerosum » Thu Nov 12, 2009 3:22 am

I have a Q106 powered by a QMPSA/Blacet PS500.
It worked fine without the QMPSA too when I just used a blacet to dotcom power cable.

I think that the dotcom oscillators and sequencers are the only dotcom modules that use +5.

What dotcom modules are you wanting?

User avatar
CZ Rider
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 513
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2009 11:19 pm
Location: The edge of space

Re: .Com QMPSA

Post by CZ Rider » Thu Nov 12, 2009 5:30 pm

haricots wrote:So how does this adapter supply the additional +5v needed for some .com modules?
I'm fantasizing about adding a row of .com and was wondering if this adapter or the harness or dedicated power supply (QPS2) is the way to go. Any suggestions?
The QPMS is just a small circuit board with a 7805 regulator, to add the +5 volts needed on some modules. The dot com site lists the power requirements for each module on their description page.

Depends on your application if this is the way to go. I found the MOTM/Blacet power connectors easy to make, and there are several options with power distribution boards. For just adding a few dot com modules, this is a great option. The QPMSA is a little odd to mount though, and I never read an official way to do it. They just kind of hang off the modules power connector? Although there are holes in the PCB for mounting, the lead is so short there is not any place I found to secure these properly. So I covered the backs of mine with electric tape, so it could not accidently short against anything metal inside.

Here is a photo with 5 QPMSA's mounted in a cabinet that was originally all MOTM, so there was a large MOTM-960 distro board inside. The 5 dot coms are 2-Q960's, 2-Q962's, and a Q128.
Image

User avatar
haricots
Droppin' Loads
Posts: 1503
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 2:32 pm
Location: Chelsea & Cowansville, QC, Canada

Post by haricots » Fri Nov 13, 2009 3:29 pm

bwhittington wrote: What Dotcom modules are you interested in? Not all require +5v.
Mostly the sequencing and triggering modules which I think need the +5v.

Post Reply

Return to “5U Format Modules”